Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Edit Basket Go to Checkout
Select Currency: $ £
Signed Books and Copies
Animators Survival Kit
Wolf Border
enCounter Culture

Authors at Foyles

Authors logoWelcome to Authors at Foyles, where you'll find authors who have really struck a chord with us and whose work we wanted to showcase. You'll find interviews, extracts, selections of their own favourite books, and much more besides, as well as being able to see their available publications at a glance. Below are the most recent authors to join our illustrious roll call. Do use the Find Author menu below to see the full list. We've also recently launched our Bookcast series, the next best thing to catching an author's live appearance at one of our Foyles events.

 

 

Find Authors:

Recent Authors

Antonia Antonia Fraser
Fiction, Non-fiction

In The Pleasure of Reading Antonia has brought together more than forty writers from around the world to explain what inspired their interest in books and what keeps them reading. This edition includes contributions from five younger writers and a new Preface by Victoria Gray.

Ryan Ryan Gattis
Fiction

Ryan Gattis' extraordinary new novel, All Involved, is set during the six days of rioting that erupted in Los Angeles in 1992. He talks about making contact with gang members, his own experience of extreme violence and what needs to happen to stop the cycle of rioting in LA.

Stephen Stephen Jarvis
Fiction

Stephen Jarvis' Death and Mr Pickwick is a Dickensian novel exploring the idea that caricaturist Robert Seymour came up with the idea for The Pickwick Papers. he discusses what led him to believe that Dickens tried to bury Seymour's contribution, why The Pickwick Papers was the Victorian era's Big Brother and why it should still be regarded at Dickens' finest achievement.

David David Crystal
Non-fiction

David Crystal introduces The Disappearing Dictionary, a Treasury of Lost English Dialect Words and explains why he's in a state of confloption.

Peter Peter Higgins
Fiction

Exclusively for Foyles, Peter talks about his long obsession with Russia and its culture, its complex, troubled, ambivalent presence today and how it became transmuted into a 'territory of the imagination' in his Wolfhound Century trilogy, whose final instalment has just been published.

Sarah Sarah Govett
Children's

Exclusively for Foyles, Sarah talks about her dystopian debut The Territory: the switch from law to tutoring to writing - via t-shirt design -, the privileging in education of science over arts and how her dystopian theme was inspired by the birth of her daughter.

Lauren Lauren Child
Children's

Author-illustrator Lauren Child talks about her inspirations, her favourite characters and how maths professor Marcus Du Sautoy' came to be involved with Ruby Redfort. You can also download an extract of her new book.

Lawrence Lawrence Osborne
Fiction

Exclusively for Foyles, we chatted to Lawrence about free will and karma, Graham Greene, and his fascination with Cambodia.

Robert Olen Robert Olen Butler
Fiction

The Star of Istanbul forms the second in the Christopher Marlowe Cobb historical thriller series. Below, Robert reveals how a postcard from 1914 taken on a Brownie camera provided the inspiration for his series and how Christopher Marlowe Cobb is more like him than any other character he has written.

Robert Robert Ampuero
Fiction

A bestseller all of the world, Roberto Ampuero now sees the first of his detective novels in the UK. He explains why it was important to him to reflect his own experience of growing up next door to the great poet Pablo Neruda, in The Neruda case, for his own sake and that of his fellow Chileans.

Sara Sara Novic
Fiction

Sara introduces her debut, Girl at War, and explains why, though they may both be women and of a similar age, she and her protagonist Ana are not one and the same. Plus, you can read the first chapter.

Liz Liz Pichon
Children's

Exclusively for Foyles, Liz presents some of her all-time favourites, including the picture book that made her want to write her own, the illustrator who's incapable of getting a mark wrong and a classic that still looks contemporary today.

Charlaine Charlaine Harris
Fiction

Sookie Stackhouse author Charlaine Harris celebrates the publication of her new novel The Day Shift with some insights on how to tell whether you're a true genre writer.

Phil Phil Earle
Children's

Phil Earle chooses his favourite children's fiction, including the book he wishes he'd written, the greatest superhero story ever told and the perfect books for fans of Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates.

Jesús Jesús Carrasco
Fiction

As his debut, Out in the Open is published, exclusively for Foyles we talked to Jesús about the origins of his story in a childhood myth, how his book started life as two novels with different premises, and why the exercise of ethics is the only thing that can save the world.

Jane Jane Smiley
Fiction, Non-fiction, Children's

In this exclusive interview for Foyles, Jane discusses some of the peculiar research she had to do when writing 'The Last Hundred Years', how she became enamoured of her characters and why writing this trilogy has been one of the most exciting adventures of her career.

Chris Chris O'Leary
Non-fiction

Chris O'Leary, whose new book Rebel Rebel is the first of two volumes offering a track-by-track analysis of the career of David Bowie, talks about why Ziggy Stardust remains the iconic image of Bowie, how he might have ended up an actor rather than a rock star and why Bowie's literary influences are as important his musical ones, as well as naming his eight Bowie Desert Island Discs.

Sarah J Sarah J Maas
Fiction, Children's

We talked to Sarah exclusively for Foyles about her interest in fairy tales, which of her characters she'd most like to spend time with and having several books on the go as well as a heavy touring schedule.

T R T R  Richmond
Fiction

Exclusively for Foyles, T R Richmond discusses how the internet has changed the transmission and consumption of news stories, the way certain stories are played out in the media and how he uses his 21st-century version of the epistolary novel to provide the reader with an immersive experience.

Elif Elif Shafak
Fiction

Bestselling Turkish author Elif Shafak on her new novel, Honour, now in paperback: she discusses the tumultuous 1970s, the different possibilities afforded by writing in two languages and how the problem of honour killings is more than just an Islamic issue.

Latest Blog
GUEST BLOG: A Pickwick paper trail
21/05/2015

Matt Brougton, Senior Designer at Vintage Books, reveals how he came up with the jacket design for Death and Mr pickwick, Stephen Jarvis' novel about the origins of The Pickwick Papers.

GUEST BLOG: Raising awareness about FGM
19/05/2015

Emma Craigie's new YA novel deals with the traumatic topic of FGM. She explains how meeting campaigners prompted her to write about about the subject for a younger age group.

Meet the translator, no.2
14/05/2015

In the second of our occasional series of interviewers, presented in translation with English PEN, Margaret Jull Costa OBE talks about her translation of the Spanish bestseller Out in the Open by Jesús Carrasco.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd