Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Chelmsford shop
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Arthur C Clarke Winner Announced

27th July 2017

Cover of The Underground RailroadThe Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (Fleet) has been announced as the 31st winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the UK’s most prestigious prize for science fiction literature.

Andrew M Butler, Chair of Judges, said: “I'm delighted the judges chose Colson Whitehead’s intensely moving The Underground Railroad. It's a gripping account both of humanity’s inhumanity and the potential for resistance, underpinned by science fiction's ability to make metaphor literal.”

In an acceptance speech read out by his publishing team, Colson Whitehead said: "This is wonderful news! Way back when I was ten years old, it was science fiction and fantasy that made me want to be a writer. If you were a writer, you could work from home, you didn't have to talk to anybody, and you could just make up stuff all day. Stuff about robots and maybe zombies and maybe even miraculous railway lines. Fantasy, like realism, is a tool for describing the world, and I'm grateful that a book like The Underground Railroad, which could not exist without the toolkit of fantastic literature, is being recognized with the Arthur C. Clarke award."

Award Director Tom Hunter added: “2017 marks Sir Arthur C. Clarke’s centenary year, and The Underground Railroad is a much-deserved winner, a tribute to Sir Arthur’s original intent that the award be as inclusive as possible in defining its genre, and a book that demonstrates science fiction’s uncanny ability to be both of the moment and an enduringly powerful message for futures to come.”

The winner was announced on the evening of Thursday 27th July at a special ceremony held at the Foyles flagship bookshop on Charing Cross Road, London, and presented in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers and fans. The announcement comes on the same day that the book's inclusion in the 2017 Man Booker longlist was announced.

The evening also marked 2017 as a year of anniversary celebrations for Sir Arthur C. Clarke’s centenary, with a toast from the audience and award director Tom Hunter revealing commemorative plans for a new science fiction anthology featuring stories from both past winning and shortlisted authors where every story will be precisely 2001 words long, and a music project releasing a science fiction score inspired by Sir Arthur’s famous ‘Three Laws’ quotes.


The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2017 comprised: Shana Worthen, British Science Fiction Association;  Una McCormack, British Science Fiction Association; Andrew McKie, Science Fiction Foundation; Paul March-Russell, Science Fiction Foundation and Charles Christian, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival. Andrew M. Butler represented the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges. 






Related Items

The Underground Railroad: Winner of...
Colson Whitehead
Latest Blog
A Tale of Two Currencies

Dharshini David explains why the volatility of Bitcoin underscores how secure the dollar is in its pole position – and how the old greenback continues to dictate the world’s fortunes.

#FoylesFive: Polish Fiction

Gary from our Fiction Department delights us with a few of his favourite Polish novels.

Get More!

We've extended the range of available lines on our website to close to one million items across more than thirty product categories! OK, that actually sounds quite dull. But what it means is you've got more books to choose from, more subject areas, more titles available on our website than ever before — more more more! To celebrate, we're giving you 15% off everything* online when you use the code GETMORE at checkout anytime between Thursday 22nd February and Thursday 1st March 2018.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd