Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Edit Basket Go to Checkout
Select Currency: $ £
The Maker of Swans
Harry Potter Page
Books in the Media
Game of Thrones
The Sympathizer
Animators Survival Kit

Man Booker International Prize

Man Booker InternationalRun in tanmdem with with the Man Booker Prize (for English-language novels), the Man Booker International Prize was created in its current form by the merging of the original Man Booker International Prize and the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

The original Man Booker International was awarded every two years to writer of fiction for their body of work as a whole. Ismail Kadare was the first winner in 2005. The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize was set up in 1990 by the Independent newspaper. The Prize was put in abeyance between 1996 and 2001, but financial support from the Arts Council saw it revived in 2002.

The prize fund of £50,000 is split equally between author and translator. Unlike the English-language Man Booker Prize, short story collections are eligible, as well as full-length works of fiction.

The longlist is announced in March, the shortlist in April and the winner in May.

The 2015 and final winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, announced on 27th May, was Jenny Erpenbeck for The End of Days. The judges were journalist Rosie Goldsmith, translator Antonia Lloyd Jones, lecturer Dr Richard Mansell, author Helen Oyeyemi and Independent journalist Boyd Tonkin.

The 2016 judges of the new award will be Boyd Tonkin (Chair), Senior Writer at The Independent, novelist Tahmima Anam; translator and academic David Bellos, editor and academic Daniel Medin and poet Ruth Padel.


Winners of the original Man Booker International Prize

2005 Ismail Kadare

2007 Chinua Achebe

2009 Alice Munro

2011 Philip Roth

2013 Lydia Davis


Winners of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize

2014 The Iraqi Christ by Hassan Blasim, trans. Jonathan Wright (Arabic)

  • Special mention for The Mussel Feast by Birgit Vanderbeke, trans. by Jamie Bulloch (German)

2013 The Detour by Gerbrand Bakker, trans. David Colmer (Dutch)

2012 Blooms of Darkness by Aharon Appelfeld, trans. Jeffrey Green (Hebrew)

2011 Red April by Santiago Roncagliolo, trans. Edith Grossman (Spanish)

2010 Brodeck's Report by Philippe Claudel; trans. John Cullen (French)

2009 The Armies by Evelio Rosero; trans. Anne McLean (Spanish)

2008 Omega Minor by Paul Verhaegen; trans. by the author (Dutch)

2007 The Book of Chameleons by José Eduardo Agualusa: trans. Daniel Hahn (Portuguese)

2006 Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson; trans. Anne Born (Norwegian)

2005 Windows on the World by Frédéric Beigbeder; trans. Frank Wynne (French)

2004 Soldiers of Salamis by Javier Cercas; trans. Anne McLean (Spanish)

2003 The Visit of the Royal Physician by Per Olov Enquist; trans. Tiina Nunnally (Swedish)

2002 Austerlitz by W G Sebald; trans. Anthea Bell (German)

1996-2001 No award

1995 The Film Explainer by Gert Hoffman; trans. Michael Hofman (German)

1994 The Sorrow of War by Bao Ninh; trans. Phanh Thanh Hao (Vietnamese)

1993 The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis by José Saramago; trans. Giovanni Pontiero (Portuguese)

1992 The Death of Napoleon by Simon Leys; trans. Patricia Clancy (French)

1991 Immortality by Milan Kundera; trans. Peter Kussi (Czech)

1990 The White Castle by Orhan Pamuk; trans. Victoria Holbrook (Turkish)


Latest Blog
Clare Morrall Looks at the Internet of the Future

Clare Morrall creates a new form of communication for her novel, When the Floods Came, set about 50 years into the future.

#FoylesFive: East German literature

The TV series Deutschland '83 has inspired Gary Perry, Fiction Buyer and resident fiction in translation expert, to present his pick of books from and about the German Democratic Republic.

Sophie Hannah on the Galaxy Quick Reads 2016 reading campaign

As part of Galaxy Quick Reads 2016 reading campaign that encourages lapsed and non readers to rediscover the pleasure of reading, Sophie Hannah has edited a collection of short Poirot stories - Agatha Christie, The Double Clue. Sophie Hannah explains why Agatha Christie is ideal for new readers.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd