Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

The Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize

Faber Book CommitteeThe Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize was founded in 1963 in tribute to Sir Geoffrey Cust Faber, a poet and founding editor of Faber & Gwyer, now known as Faber & Faber, one of the world's best known literary publishers.

(The photograph on the right, courtesy of the Faber Archive, is of the Faber Book Commitee in 1944; Geoffrey Faber is third from the left and T S Eliot is on the extreme left.)

The Prize is awarded in alternative years to a volume of fiction (including short stories) and poetry, with the former in the odd numbered years and the latter in the even. Only a winner is announced, who receives £1000.

Eligible books must have been published in English in either the calendar year of the award or the previous year; authors must be resident in the UK, the Commonwealth or Ireland and under 40 on the date of publication.

Previous fiction winners include J G Farrell, J M Coetzee, Julian Barnes, Carol Birch, Will Self and David Mitchell. Poetry winners include Seamus Heaney, Tony Harrison, Paul Muldoon, Don Paterson, Kathleen Jamie and Glyn Maxwell. Muldoon and Jamie are the only authors to have won the prize twice, although Muldoon's first win, in 1982, was shared with Tom Paulin, the most recent of five occasions on which the Prize has been jointly awarded.

The 2011 judging panel included Foyles' Web Editor, Jonathan Ruppin.

The prize for 2014 was announced on 17th November 2015. The panel, consisting of poet Ruth Radel, children's author Julia Copus and author and editor Max Porter, choose joint winners: Black Country by Liz Berry and Bright Travellers by Fiona Benson.

The jduges commented: 'Both are debut collections which have won other awards. The fascinatingly different ways in which their language and vision shine reflect the astonishing quality and variety of poetry written today – especially, we are delighted to report, by women.'


Previous winners


2013 A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride (fiction)

2012 The Havocs by Jacob Polley (poetry)

2011 Solace by Belinda McKeon

2010 Perfect Blue by Kona Macphee

2009 London and the South-East by David Szalay

2008 On Purpose by Nick Laird

2007 Self Help by Edward Docx

2006 Woods Etc. by Alice Oswald

2005 Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

2004 The Nerve: Poems by Glyn Maxwell

2003 The Drink and Dream Teahouse by Justin Hill (currently out of print)

2002 At Home in the Dark by Greta Stoddart

2001 The Hiding Place by Trezza Azzopardi

2000 Jizzen by Kathleen Jamie (currently out of print)

1999 Shopping by Gavin Kramer (currently out of print)

1998 God's Gift to Women by Don Paterson

1997 Not Her Real Name by Emily Perkins (currently out of print)

1996 The Queen of Sheba by Kathleen Jamie (currently out of print)

1995 Their Angel Reach by Livi Michael (currently out of print)

1994 Feast Days by John Burnside (currently out of print)

1993 The Quantity Theory of Insanity by Will Self

1992 Madoc: A Mystery by Paul Muldoon (currently out of print)

1991 The Fog Line by Carol Birch (currently out of print)

1990 Shibboleth by Michael Donaghy (currently out of print)

1989 Sea Music by David Profumo (currently out of print)

1988 Acrimony: Poems by Michael Hofmann (currently out of print)

1987 Man Descending by Guy Vanderhaege (currently out of print)

1986 A Quiet Gathering by David Scott (currently out of print)

1985 Flaubert's Parrot by Julian Barnes

1984 In Memory of War: Poems 1968-83 by James Fenton (currently out of print)

1983 Shuttlecock by Graham Swift

1982 The Strange Museum by Tom Paulin AND Why Brownlee Left by Paul Muldoon (currently out of print)

1981 Waiting for the Barbarians by J M Coetzee

1980 Love by Hugo Williams AND The Slant Door by George Szirtes (both currently out of print)

1979 The Monkey King by Timothy Mo

1978 Dreams of the Dead by David Harsent AND The Bear Looked over the Mountain by Kit Wright (both currently out of print)

1977 The Story of the Weasel by Carolyn Slaughter (currently out of print)

1976 Love or Nothing by Douglas Dunn (currently out of print)

1975 In the Middle of a Life by Richard B Wright (currently out of print)

1974 Cannibals and Missionariesby John Fuller (currently out of print)

1973 Pasmore by David Storey (currently out of print)

1972 The Loiners by Tony Harrison (currently out of print)

1971 Troubles by J G Farrell

1970 King Log by Geoffrey Hill (currently out of print)

1969 The Junkers by Piers Paul Read ((currently out of print)

1968 Death of a Naturalist by Seamus Heaney

1967 Remedy is None by William McIlvanney AND The Man with the Chocolate Egg by John Noone (both currently out of print)

Latest Blog
From Page to Stage - Adapting The Hunting of the Snark

Garry McQuinn, Producer of The Hunting of the Snark, which opens this week at London's Vaudeville Theatre, describes the journey from page to stage.

#FoylesFive: Celebrating Beer

Earlier this year, Belgian beer culture finally officially took its rightful place on the World's Intangible Cultural Heritage list, where it now sits in good company with the likes of the French gastronomic meal, Cuban rumba and Spanish flamenco. To celebrate, here is a far from exhaustive selection of some of the beer literature that can help you better appreciate the delicate arts of brewing and drinking beer.

#FoylesFave: Dunkirk

This month history buffs and film fans are united as they eagerly await Christopher Nolan's portrayal of Dunkirk. Madga from our Birmingham branch reviews the accompanying book.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd