Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

The Romantic Novelists' Association Awards

Romantic Novelists' Association logoThe Romantic Novelists' Association was set up in 1960 to encourage and support writers of romantic fiction. Bestselling author Katie Fforde is their current President.

The RNA Awards, also known as the RoNAs, have been presented since 1960. The overall Romantic Novel of the Year is selected from the winners of what are currently five categories: Contemporary Romantic Novel, Epic Romantic Novel, Historical Romantic Novel, Romantic Comedy Novel and Young Adult Romantic Novel. Winners are announced in March at a ceremony close close to Mothering Sunday, one of the peak periods for sales of romantic fiction.

There is also the Rose Award, previously called the Love Story of the Year, which is given to a shorter work, and the Harry Bowling Prize, given every two years to an unpublished work. The Katie Fforde Bursary is granted to a meber of the RNA's New Writers' Scheme whom Katie Fforde, the current President, feels has particular potential. The Katie Fforde wins!Joan Hessayon New Writers' Scheme offers editorial feedback to unpublished members' work. The Elizabeth Goudge Trophy was originally awarded to the Best Historical Novel of the Year, but is now presented at the RNA's Annual Conference.

Five authors have won the overall prize more than once. 2011's winner Jojo Moyes had previously won in 2004 and Rosie Thomas, Joanne Marshall (in consecutive years) and Maynah Lewis have also won twice. But Margaret Maddocks, an author whose books are now sadly entirely out of print, is the only author to have won three times, the last being in 1970.

Foyles' Head of Buying, Jasper Sutcliffe, was on the judging panel in 2003, when the Novel of the Year was won by Sarah Mason for Playing James and Foyles' web editor, Jonathan Ruppin, has been on the panel in 2012 and 2013.

On 16th May, Welcome to Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams by Jenny Colgan was declared the winner for 2013. To see the shortlists and a complete list of winners, visit the RNA website.

2013 Contemporary Romantic Novel of the Year

You Had Me At Hello
Mhairi McFarlane
What happens when the one that got away comes back? Find out in this sparkling comedy from #1 bestseller, Mhairi McFarlane.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.


Stores - out of stock

2013 Epic Romantic Novel of the Year

2013 Historical Romantic Novel of the Year

The Apothecary's Daughter
Charlotte Betts
A debut novel from an exciting new voice in historical romance set in bustling, malodorous Restoration London at the time of the plague, just before the Great Fire of 1666.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.


2013 Romantic Comedy Novel of the Year

Welcome To Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop ...
Jenny Colgan
*Winner of the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2013*Jenny's new novel is full of warmth, humour and fun - an homage to Star Bars and spangles and refreshers and licorice allsorts and gobstoppers and Hubba Bubba and friendship, and all the best childhood memories of buying sweets in paper bags with your pocket money.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.


2013 Young Adult Romantic Novel of the Year

Victoria Lamb
Meg Lytton has always known of her dark and powerful gift. Raised a student of the old magick by her Aunt Jane, casting the circle to see visions of the future and concocting spells from herbs and bones has always been as natural to Meg as breathing. But there has never been a more dangerous time to practise the craft.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.


Stores - out of stock

Recent winners of the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Award

2012 Please Don't Stop The Music by Jane Lovering

2011 The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

2010 Lost Dogs and Lonely Hearts by Lucy Dillon

2009 East of the Sun by Julila Gregson

2008 Pillow Talk by Freya North

2007 Iris and Ruby by Rosie Thomas

2006 Gardens of Delight by Erica James

2005 A Good Voyage by Katharine Davies

2004 Foreign Fruit by Jojo Moyes

2003 Playing James by Sarah Mason (currently out of print)

2002 The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

2001 Someone Like You by Cathy Kelly

2000 Dancing In The Dark by Maureen Lee

1999 Learning To Swim by Clare Chambers

1998 Kiss And Kin by Angela Lambert (currently out of print)

1997 The Hours Of The Night by Sue Gee

1996 Coming Home by Rosamunde Pilcher

1995 Change Of Heart by Charlotte Bingham

1994 Consider The Lily by Elizabeth Buchan (currently out of print)

1993 Emily by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles (currently out of print)

1992 Sandstorm by June Knox-Mawer (currently out of print)

1991 Phantom by Susan Kay (currently out of print)

1990 Passing Glory by Reay Tannahill (currently out of print)

Latest Blog
From Page to Stage - Adapting The Hunting of the Snark

Garry McQuinn, Producer of The Hunting of the Snark, which opens this week at London's Vaudeville Theatre, describes the journey from page to stage.

#FoylesFive: Celebrating Beer

Earlier this year, Belgian beer culture finally officially took its rightful place on the World's Intangible Cultural Heritage list, where it now sits in good company with the likes of the French gastronomic meal, Cuban rumba and Spanish flamenco. To celebrate, here is a far from exhaustive selection of some of the beer literature that can help you better appreciate the delicate arts of brewing and drinking beer.

#FoylesFave: Dunkirk

This month history buffs and film fans are united as they eagerly await Christopher Nolan's portrayal of Dunkirk. Madga from our Birmingham branch reviews the accompanying book.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd