Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious

Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious

(Paperback)
£9.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£9.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK for orders over £10 or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

In the 2006 case of the US Government vs Enron, the presiding judge instructed the jurors to take account of the concept of wilful blindness as they reached their verdict about whether the chief executives of the disgraced energy corporation were guilty. It was not enough for the defendants to say that they did not know what was going on; that they had not seen anything. If they failed to observe the corruption which was unfolding before their very eyes, not knowing was no defence. The guilty verdict sent shivers down the spine of the corporate world. In this book, distinguished business woman and writer, Margaret Heffernan, examines the phenomenon of wilful blindness. Drawing on a wide array of sources from psychological studies and social statistics to interviews with the relevant protagonists she examines what it is about human nature which makes us so prone to wilful blindness. Taught from infancy to obey authority, and absorbing the importance of selective vision as a key social skill, humans exacerbate their tendency to become institutionalised by joining organisations which are run by like-minded people.

She looks at how hard work and the information overload of the modern workplace add to the problem. And she examines why whistleblowers and Cassandras are so very rare. Ranging freely through history and from business to science, government to the family, this engaging and anecdotal book will explain why wilful blindness is so dangerous in the globalised, interconnected world in which we live, before suggesting ways in which institutions and individuals can start to combat it. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Margaret Heffernan's thought provoking book will force open our eyes.

Health & WellbeingHealth & PsychologyPopular psychologyPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesCultural Studies Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd Publication Date: 02/02/2012 ISBN-13: 9781847399052  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by Margaret Heffernan

Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for orders over £10* or £2.50 Available free for orders over £10* or £1.00 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

How the Body Knows its Mind
(Paperback)
Sian Beilock
 
 
£12.99
 
100 Ways to Overcome Shyness: Go from...
(Paperback)
Barton Goldsmith; Marlena Hunter
 
 
£12.99
 
Exercising Influence: A Guide for...
(Paperback)
B. Kim Barnes
 
 
£22.99
 
Belly Dance for Health, Happiness and...
(Paperback)
Christine Hobin; Tina Hobin
 
 
£16.99
 
Latest Blog
Age is not important (unless you're a cheese)
01/09/2015

As a writer in her 40s being published for the first time, Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill, looks at the advantages of experience when it comes to writing fiction.

Translating Elena Ferrante
29/08/2015

On publication of the fourth and final of the Neapolitan novels, The Story of the Lost Child, Elena Ferrante's translator, Ann Goldstein reveals reveals the joys and challenges of working on one of the great works of contemporary Italian literature.

Juniper ascending
27/08/2015

Ian Buxton, author of 101 Gins To Try Before you Die, looks at how boutique distillers have made gin the nation's favourite once again.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd