Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious
Foyalty 29
Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious (Paperback)
Order now for Free delivery in the UK for orders over £10 or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days. More on delivery...
Order Options List Price Online Price Save Availability Login for Quick Checkout
Delivery:

To home, business or free to our stores. Click for more info.

£9.99 £7.49 25%

Despatched in 2 business days.

Add to Basket
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12 noon tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£9.99 £8.99 10%

In stock in 1 or more stores

Buy - Select Store
New & Used:

Our marketplace sellers will deliver to your chosen address. Click for more info.

From £1.78  

In stock at one or more sellers.

Buy - Select Seller

Product Synopsis

In the 2006 case of the US Government vs Enron, the presiding judge instructed the jurors to take account of the concept of wilful blindness as they reached their verdict about whether the chief executives of the disgraced energy corporation were guilty. It was not enough for the defendants to say that they did not know what was going on; that they had not seen anything. If they failed to observe the corruption which was unfolding before their very eyes, not knowing was no defence. The guilty verdict sent shivers down the spine of the corporate world. In this book, distinguished business woman and writer, Margaret Heffernan, examines the phenomenon of wilful blindness. Drawing on a wide array of sources from psychological studies and social statistics to interviews with the relevant protagonists she examines what it is about human nature which makes us so prone to wilful blindness. Taught from infancy to obey authority, and absorbing the importance of selective vision as a key social skill, humans exacerbate their tendency to become institutionalised by joining organisations which are run by like-minded people.

She looks at how hard work and the information overload of the modern workplace add to the problem. And she examines why whistleblowers and Cassandras are so very rare. Ranging freely through history and from business to science, government to the family, this engaging and anecdotal book will explain why wilful blindness is so dangerous in the globalised, interconnected world in which we live, before suggesting ways in which institutions and individuals can start to combat it. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Margaret Heffernan's thought provoking book will force open our eyes.

Health & Wellbeing >> Health & Psychology >> Popular psychologyPhilosophy, Psychology & Social Sciences >> Cultural Studies Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd Publication Date: 02/02/2012 ISBN-13: 9781847399052  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by Margaret Heffernan

Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location1st BookEach additional bookAverage Delivery Time
UK Second ClassAvailable free for orders over £10* or £2.50Available free for orders over £10* or £1.003-7 Days
UK First Class£4.50£1.001-2 Days
UK Courier£7.00£1.001-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier£17.00£3.002-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail£5.00£1.504-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier£20.00£3.002-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail£7.00£3.004-14 Days
Rest of World Courier£22.50£3.003-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail£8.00£3.007-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Tony Buzan's 7-day Brain Boost Pack
Tony Buzan's 7-day Brain Boost Pack (Books & other media combined)
Tony Buzan
 
£12.99£9.4827%Add to Basket
Sacred Journey
Sacred Journey (Paperback)
Dreamturtle, Juerg; Dreamturtle,...
 
£17.05£14.4915%Add to Basket
Beginnings and Beyond: Guide for...
Laurel Hughes
 
From£10.68 Buy - Select Seller
7 Life Lessons You Should Know
Lester, Todd;
 
From£21.04 Buy - Select Seller
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Edit Basket Go to Checkout
Select Currency: $ £
enCounter Culture
Signed Books and Copies
Animators Survival Kit
Latest Blog
Helping kids discover London's wildlife
23/10/2014

Autumn's natural wonders, even in a city like London, can offer all manner of fun and adventure this half-term, suggests Laura from our Royal Festival Hall shop.

GUEST BLOG: Poetry and art - a wartime romance
17/10/2014

Christiana Spens, illustrator and Director of 3:AM Press, looks at the the important relationship between books and the artwork that adorns them.

A book is for life, not just for GCSE
14/10/2014

Charlotte from our Bristol branch on how the books we read at school often resonate with us throughout lives, as well as starting us out on a lifelong journey of literary discovery.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Version: 1.0.0.19527