Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious

Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious (Paperback)

£9.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£9.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£9.99
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Not available after 11:59 GMT
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

In the 2006 case of the US Government vs Enron, the presiding judge instructed the jurors to take account of the concept of wilful blindness as they reached their verdict about whether the chief executives of the disgraced energy corporation were guilty. It was not enough for the defendants to say that they did not know what was going on; that they had not seen anything. If they failed to observe the corruption which was unfolding before their very eyes, not knowing was no defence. The guilty verdict sent shivers down the spine of the corporate world. In this book, distinguished business woman and writer, Margaret Heffernan, examines the phenomenon of wilful blindness. Drawing on a wide array of sources from psychological studies and social statistics to interviews with the relevant protagonists she examines what it is about human nature which makes us so prone to wilful blindness. Taught from infancy to obey authority, and absorbing the importance of selective vision as a key social skill, humans exacerbate their tendency to become institutionalised by joining organisations which are run by like-minded people.

She looks at how hard work and the information overload of the modern workplace add to the problem. And she examines why whistleblowers and Cassandras are so very rare. Ranging freely through history and from business to science, government to the family, this engaging and anecdotal book will explain why wilful blindness is so dangerous in the globalised, interconnected world in which we live, before suggesting ways in which institutions and individuals can start to combat it. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Margaret Heffernan's thought provoking book will force open our eyes.

Health & WellbeingHealth & PsychologyPopular psychologyPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesCultural Studies Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd Publication Date: 02/02/2012 ISBN-13: 9781847399052  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

MARGARET HEFFERNAN was born in Texas, raised in Holland and educated at Cambridge University. She worked in BBC Radio as a television producer, before leaving to run the trade association IPPA. She returned to the US where she worked on public affair campaigns and with software companies trying to break into multimedia. She then joined CMGI where she ran, bought and sold leading Internet businesses. She is a visiting professor and Entrepreneur in Residence at the University of Bath. She is the author of The Naked Truth and How She Does It, and Wilful Blindness. She writes a regular column for Real Business and the Huffington Post.

More books by Margaret Heffernan

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for ALL orders. No charge for each additional book. 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Powerful Beyond Measure: 3 Steps to...
(Paperback)
Cynthia E Mazzaferro
 
 
£12.95
 

Currently out of stock

Becoming a Significant Man: Unleash...
(Paperback)
Warren Peterson
 
 
£12.95
 

Currently out of stock

Becoming a Significant Man: Unleash...
(Hardback)
Warren Peterson
 
 
£23.95
 

Currently out of stock

Thrive Principles: 15 Strategies for...
(Paperback)
Lee H Baucom
 
 
£13.95
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
#FoylesFive: Forlorn Festive Fiction
09/12/2016

Jay from our Birmingham branch gets us in the Christmas mood, or gets us moody for Christmas with his Forlorn Festive Fiction picks.

#FoylesFive: Non-Fiction Picture Books
07/12/2016

Matt from our web team tells us all about his favourite Non-Fiction children's books for this Christmas and beyond.

Damian Barr Revisits a Christmas Classic
06/12/2016

It’s Christmas so this month we had to choose Dickens’s classic festive ghost story, A Christmas Carol.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd