Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
"Gypsy Moth" Circles the World
"Gypsy Moth" Circles the World (Paperback)
Order Options List Price Online Price Save Availability
Delivery:

To home, business or free to our stores. Click for more info.

     

Available through New & Used Online only

 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 6pm today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

     

Stores - out of stock

 
New & Used:

Our marketplace sellers will deliver to your chosen address. Click for more info.

From £9.00  

In stock at one or more sellers.

Buy - Select Seller

Product Synopsis

'Sir Francis Chichester has become a genuine hero - perhaps the greatest of the adventurers of his time' - "Time". From time immemorial, few narrative genres have had the power to so stir the emotions or captivate the imagination as the true account of a lone adventurer's triumph over the titanic forces of nature. Among the handful of such tales to emerge in the twentieth century, one of the most enduring surely must be Sir Francis Chichester's account of his solitary, nine-month journey around the world in his 53-foot ketch Gipsy Moth IV. The story of how the sixty-five-year-old navigator singlehandedly circumnavigated the globe, the whole way battling hostile seas as well as his boat's numerous design flaws, is a tale of superhuman tenacity and endurance to be read and reread by sailors and armchair adventurers alike.This volume in "The Sailor's Classics" restores in its entirety for a new generation of readers Francis Chichester's extraordinarily candid personal account of his adventure. First published in 1967, just months after the completion of Chichester's historic journey, "Gipsy Moth Circles the World" was an instant international best-seller.

It inspired the first solo around-the-world race and remains a timeless testament to the spirit of adventure, and is included on "National Geographic Adventure" magazine's list of Greatest Adventure Books of All Time. Francis Chichester's 1967 singlehanded circumnavigation set a blazing record for speed. He completed the voyage with just one stop and 226 days at sea. It was an amazing performance; that he was sixty-five years old made it the more so. Chichester then sat down to write one of the great narratives of modern voyaging.'A remarkable feat, a moving story of conquest by the unquenchable human spirit, a determined old man's gesture of defiance at the modern world. Such was the voyage; his book is a fine account of it with nothing left out' - Alan Villiers, "Saturday Review". 'Chichester's voyage was a classic of its kind. His book is a classic document of self-punishing endurance. Chichester was in his own way an explorer in the tradition of Scott and Shackleton.

Unlike Scott and Shackleton, in these pages he bares himself and his mood-swings to the reader's gaze, and one is privileged to be his intimate on this loneliest and most harrowing of voyages' - from the introduction by Jonathan Raban.

Biography >> Biography: general >> Biography: sportSport & Hobbies >> Sports & outdoor recreation >> Boating >> SailingTravel & Maps >> Travel writing Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education - Europe Publication Date: 01/05/2003 ISBN-13: 9780071414289  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Available through New & Used Online only  

More books by Francis Chichester

Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location1st BookEach additional bookAverage Delivery Time
UK Second ClassAvailable free for orders over £10* or £2.50Available free for orders over £10* or £1.003-7 Days
UK First Class£4.50£1.001-2 Days
UK Courier£7.00£1.001-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier£17.00£3.002-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail£5.00£1.504-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier£20.00£3.002-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail£7.00£3.004-14 Days
Rest of World Courier£22.50£3.003-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail£8.00£3.007-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

Foyles Marketplace

Special Terms on Marketplace orders

Please note special terms and condition apply and customers placing orders are accepting these terms. See our Full Terms, Delivery Rates and Times. Specifically we are unable to accept cancellation or amendment to Marketplace orders once placed.

All sellers despatch within 48 hours, but postage times and costs vary depending on your location and that of the seller. As such the UK delivery price is displayed as a guide only.

Condition Seller Postage Price

Good

Sellers Comments:

Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, and may not include cd-rom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

HPB-St. Paul

Available Qty: 1

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£9.00

Earns 36 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £17.15

Add to Basket

Very Good

Sellers Comments:

None

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Better World Books UK

Available Qty: 1

United Kingdom

From United Kingdom

£2.95 3-10 business days

£13.76

Earns 55 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £16.71

Add to Basket

Fine/Like New

Sellers Comments:

None

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

gehlbh

Available Qty: 1

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£17.12

Earns 68 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £25.27

Add to Basket

Good

Sellers Comments:

Gipsy Moth Circles the World. This book is in Good condition. Buy with confidence. We ship from multiple location.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Nohinsa Books

Available Qty: 1

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£28.83

Earns 115 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £36.98

Add to Basket

Very Good

Sellers Comments:

Very nice copy.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

5Boros Books

Available Qty: 1

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£49.40

Earns 197 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £57.55

Add to Basket

Fine/Like New

Sellers Comments:

Close to new condidtion.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

5Boros Books

Available Qty: 1

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£50.80

Earns 203 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £58.95

Add to Basket

Very Good

Sellers Comments:

Great customer service. You will be happy!

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

booklab

Available Qty: 2

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£55.28

Earns 221 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £63.43

Add to Basket

Very Good

Sellers Comments:

None

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

More Books

Available Qty: 2

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£55.28

Earns 221 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £63.43

Add to Basket

New

Sellers Comments:

Great customer service. You will be happy!

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

booklab

Available Qty: 2

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£85.69

Earns 342 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £93.84

Add to Basket

New

Sellers Comments:

None

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

More Books

Available Qty: 2

United States

From United States

£8.15 21-28 business days

£85.69

Earns 342 Foyalty points

Price including delivery to the UK = £93.84

Add to Basket

You might also like

A Cruising Guide to the Tennessee...
Marian, Thomas W.; Rumsey, W. J.;...
 
£22.95£17.9022%Add to Basket
The Nautical Almanac: 2007
Nautical Almanac Office
 
From£16.78 Buy - Select Seller
The Intricate Art of Living Afloat
Clare Allcard
 
Cutting the Dragon's Tail
David Chidell; Lynda Chidell
 
From£108.01 Buy - Select Seller
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Edit Basket Go to Checkout
Select Currency: $ £
enCounter Culture
Signed Books and Copies
110 Exhibition
Bookseller Industry Awards
Animators Survival Kit
Latest Blog
GUEST BLOG: Tackling taboos the Mirabelle Bevan Way
18/04/2014

Sara Sheridan, author of the 1950s-set Mirabelle Bevan Mysteries, explains how she tackles subjects that were taboo at the time, like sex and violence.

Once upon a time in the west
15/04/2014

While Westerns remain popular in America, they have largely fallen out of favour with British readers. This is a great pity, suggests Joshua from our Waterloo branch, as they are missing out on some wonderful fiction, both classic and contemporary.

GUEST BLOG: Generating questions
10/04/2014

Bestselling thriller writer Chris Pavone explains how revising the script for the screen adaptation of his debut, The Expats, revealed a fundamental truth about what ensures readers keep turning the pages.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Version: 1.0.0.29925