Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Browse Menu:
Clear
Categories
Essays & Writing
/essays-writing
0
Clear all
Selections
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear all
Refine by
Clear
Availability
Ready for Despatch
To Order From Suppliers
Pre-Orders
1
Clear
Highlights & Offers
New Arrivals
Current Favourites
Bestsellers
Signed Copies
Promotions
Over 30% or more off
Coming Soon
Top Tens
1
Foyles Recommends
Staff Choice
Author Choice
Customer Choice
Customer Rating
1
Clear
Formats
Books
eReaders, Tablets & accessories
eBooks
Audiobooks
Digital or Media
Sheet Music
Gifts & Stationery
Maps
1
Clear
In Language
Afrikaans
Albanian
Amharic
Arabic
Armenian
Assamese
Assyrian
Awa
Azerbaijani
Balinese
Balti
Basque
Belarusian
Bemba
Bengali
Bislama
Bosnian
Breton
Bulgarian
Burmese (Myanmar)
C. African General
C. Asian General
Cambodian/Khmer
Caribbean Creole
Catalan
Caucasus General
Chechen
Chichewa
Chinese: Cantonese
Chinese: Mandarin
Cornish
Croatian
Czech
Danish
Dari
Dholuo
Dutch
E. African General
E. European General
English
Esperanto
Estonian
Faroese
Fijian
Finnish
French
General L&L
Georgian
German
Greek
Greenlandic
Guarani
Gujarati
Haitian Creole
Hausa
Hawaiian
Hebrew
Hindi
Hindustani
Hungarian
Ibo/Igbo
Icelandic
Ilokano
Indian General
Indonesian
Ingush
Inuktitut
Irish
Italian
Jamaican English
Japanese
Javanese
Jèrriais
Kannada
Karao
Kashmiri
Kazakh
Khasi
Kirghiz
Kisi
Konkani
Korean
Kurdish
Kwamera
Ladino
Lakota
Lao
Latin
Latvian
Lingala
Lithuanian
Luganda
Luxembourgish
Macedonian
Malagasy
Malay
Malayalam
Maldivian
Maltese
Mambwe
Mandinka
Manipuri
Manx
Maori
Marathi
Mauritian
Mongolian
Multilingual
Navajo
Nepali
Nordic General
Northern Sotho
Norwegian
Old English
Oriya
Oshindonga
Other Euro General
Pacific General
Pali
Papiamento
Pashto/Pushto
Persian/Farsi
Pidgin
Polish
Portuguese
Punjabi
Quechua
Romanian
Rotuman
Russian
S. African General
S. American General
Samoan
Sanskrit
Scottish Gaelic
Senoi
Serbian
Serbo-Croat
Sesotho
Setswana
Shona
Sign Language
Sindhi
Sinhalese
Slovak
Slovene
Somali
Spanish
Swahili
Swedish
Syriac
Tagalog (Filipino)
Tahitian
Taiwanese: Hokkien
Tajik
Tamazight
Tamil
Tatar
Telugu
Thai
Tibetan
Tigrinya
Tokelau
Tolo
Tongan
Tsonga
Tswana
Turkish
Turkmen
Tuvaluan
Twi
Ukrainian
Urdu
Uzbek
Vietnamese
W. African General
Wankumara
Warndarang
Welsh
White Hmong
Wolof
Xhosa
Yiddish
Yoruba
Zulu
1
Clear
Price
£to £

Search Results

Showing 1-16 of top 150 Results.

Life, Love and the Archers:...
(Hardback)
Wendy Cope
 
'ENTERTAINING AND MOVING' Independent on Sunday - 'WONDERFUL, WISTFUL AND HAS SOME WISECRACKING ONE LINERS' Tatler - 'FUNNY, FEARLESS AND UNFLINCHINGLY TRUTHFUL' TLS...
Delivery:
£16.99
£12.74
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£16.99
£16.14
5%
Men Explain Things to Me: And Other...
(Hardback)
Rebecca Solnit
 
A collection of essays on feminism, from one of the most important and original public intellectuals writing today
Delivery:
£12.99
£9.74
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£12.99
£12.34
5%
Where I'm Reading from: The Changing...
(Hardback)
Tim Parks
 
Should you finish every book you start? How has your family influenced the way you read? What is literary style? How is the Nobel Prize like the World Cup? Why...
Delivery:
£12.99
£9.74
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£12.99
£12.34
5%
Lists of Note
(Hardback)
Shaun Usher
 
Humans have been making lists for even longer than they've been writing letters. This book features 125 lists with facsimiles or illustrations, including: a shopping list written by two 9th-century...
Delivery:
£30.00
£22.50
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£30.00
£28.50
5%
On Writers and Writing
(Paperback)
Margaret Atwood
 
A fascinating collection of six essays, written for the William Empson Lectures in Oxford, each exploring an aspect of writerly contemplation.
Delivery:
£9.99
£7.29
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£9.99
£9.49
5%
Roth Unbound
(Paperback)
Claudia Roth Pierpont
 
Philip Roth - one of the most renowned writers of his generation. From his debut, Goodbye, Columbus, which won the National Book Award, to his Pulitzer Prize-winning American Pastoral, to...
Delivery:
£10.99
£8.24
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£10.99
£10.44
5%
When the Facts Change: Essays 1995 -...
(Hardback)
Tony Judt
 
A collection of essays from the author of Postwar and Thinking the Twentieth Century, that spans a career of extraordinary intellectual engagement. It includes essays that are centred on twentieth-century...
Delivery:
£25.00
£18.75
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£25.00
£23.75
5%
Classical Literature
(Paperback)
Richard Jenkyns
 
What makes Greek and Roman literature great? How has classical literature influenced Western culture? What did Greek and Roman authors learn from each other? The author deals with these questions.
Delivery:
£7.99
£5.99
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£7.99
£7.59
5%
Quite A Good Time to be Born: A...
(Hardback)
David Lodge
 
The only child in a lower-middle-class family, who got his artistic genes from his musician father and his Catholic faith from his mother, the author was four when World War...
Delivery:
£25.00
£18.75
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£25.00
£23.75
5%
The Examined Life: How We Lose and...
(Paperback)
Stephen Grosz
 
Reveals how the art of insight can illuminate the most complicated, confounding and human of experiences. This title includes stories about our everyday lives: they are about the people we...
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.74
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.54
5%
Politics and the English Language
(Paperback)
George Orwell
 
Includes all issues such as political issues, and politics itself is a mass of lies, evasions, folly, hatred and schizophrenia. This title offers an essay on style.
Delivery:
£0.99
£0.74
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£0.99
£0.94
5%
The Verso Book of Dissent: From...
(Paperback)
Verso; Ali Tariq
 
A sparkling anthology of revolt and resistance to orthodoxy and repression.
Delivery:
£12.99
£6.50
50%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£12.99
£12.34
5%
Let's Explore Diabetes With Owls
(Paperback)
David Sedaris
 
A new roundup of personal essays from the No. 1 bestselling writer named by Time as America's Favourite Humorist.
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.56
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.54
5%
1Q84: Books 1 and 2: Books 1 and 2
(Paperback)
Haruki Murakami
The year is 1Q84. This is the real world, there is no doubt about that. But in this world, there are two moons in the sky. In this world, the...
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.74
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.54
5%
Beauty and the Inferno
(Paperback)
Roberto Saviano; Oonagh Stransky
 
Twenty-five powerful and incisive essays by the formidably courageous investigative journalist Roberto Saviano, author of Gomorrah.
Delivery:
£9.99
£5.99
40%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£9.99
£9.49
5%
Bring Me Home
(Paperback)
Alan Titchmarsh
 
Captivating family mystery from masterful storyteller Alan Titchmarsh. The perfect escapist read for fans of Kate Morton and Judy Finnigan.
Delivery:
£7.99
£4.79
40%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£7.99
£7.59
5%

Latest Blog
Pretty as a picture book
09/01/2015

One of the most fun things about becoming a parent is rediscovering the magical world of children's picture books. Charlotte Pope, who runs the Children's department at our Bristol Cabot Circus branch, picks out some of the best recent titles that should make bedtime stories fun for all involved.

The best fiction of 2014
15/12/2014

Many at Foyles feel that 2014 been a very good year for fiction and our customers seem to agree, with big leaps in sales in all our branches. Our web editor, Jonathan Ruppin, looks at why this might be, selects his top titles and explains why Dutch novelist Peter Buwalda's Bonita Avenue is his book of the year.

Making failure into an art
09/12/2014

You've probably heard of the writer Franz Kafka; but what about Hans Kafka? No? Well, there's a reason for that...

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd