Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Edit Basket Go to Checkout
Select Currency: $ £
enCounter Culture
Signed Books and Copies
Animators Survival Kit

The Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize

Faber Book CommitteeThe Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize was founded in 1963 in tribute to Sir Geoffrey Cust Faber, a poet and founding editor of Faber & Gwyer, now known as Faber & Faber, one of the world's best known literary publishers.

(The photograph on the right, courtesy of the Faber Archive, is of the Faber Book Commitee in 1944; Geoffrey Faber is third from the left and T S Eliot is on the extreme left.)

The Prize is awarded in alternative years to a volume of fiction (including short stories) and poetry, with the former in the odd numbered years and the latter in the even. Only a winner is announced, who receives £1000.

Eligible books must have been published in English in either the calendar year of the award or the previous year; authors must be resident in the UK, the Commonwealth or Ireland and under 40 on the date of publication.

Previous fiction winners include J G Farrell, J M Coetzee, Julian Barnes, Carol Birch, Will Self and David Mitchell. Poetry winners include Seamus Heaney, Tony Harrison, Paul Muldoon, Don Paterson, Kathleen Jamie and Glyn Maxwell. Muldoon and Jamie are the only authors to have won the prize twice, although Muldoon's first win, in 1982, was shared with Tom Paulin, the most recent of five occasions on which the Prize has been jointly awarded.

The 2012 award was for poetry; Jacob Polley's The Havocs, was chosen by the judges, Jean Sprackland, Sarah Crown and Maurice Riordan, for its 'remarkably strong and consistent lyrical voice'.

The most recent fiction award went to Belinda McKeon's debut novel, Solace, chosen by a panel consisting of writer Rachel Cusk, journalist Leo Robson and Foyles' Web Editor, Jonathan Ruppin.

Read an exclusive interview with Belinda McKeon


Previous winners

2011: Solace by Belinda McKeon

2010: Perfect Blue by Kona Macphee
2009: London and the South-East by David Szalay
2008: On Purpose by Nick Laird
2007: Self Help by Edward Docx
2006: Woods Etc. by Alice Oswald
2005: Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
2004: The Nerve: Poems by Glyn Maxwell
2003: The Drink and Dream Teahouse by Justin Hill (currently out of print)
2002: At Home in the Dark by Greta Stoddart
2001: The Hiding Place by Trezza Azzopardi
2000: Jizzen by Kathleen Jamie (currently out of print)
1999: Shopping by Gavin Kramer (currently out of print)
1998: God's Gift to Women by Don Paterson
1997: Not Her Real Name by Emily Perkins (currently out of print)
1996: The Queen of Sheba by Kathleen Jamie (currently out of print)
1995: Their Angel Reach by Livi Michael (currently out of print)
1994: Feast Days by John Burnside (currently out of print)
1993: The Quantity Theory of Insanity by Will Self
1992: Madoc: A Mystery by Paul Muldoon (currently out of print)
1991: The Fog Line by Carol Birch (currently out of print)
1990: Shibboleth by Michael Donaghy (currently out of print)
1989: Sea Music by David Profumo (currently out of print)
1988: Acrimony: Poems by Michael Hofmann (currently out of print)
1987: Man Descending by Guy Vanderhaege (currently out of print)
1986: A Quiet Gathering by David Scott (currently out of print)
1985: Flaubert's Parrot by Julian Barnes
1984: In Memory of War: Poems 1968-83 by James Fenton (currently out of print)
1983: Shuttlecock by Graham Swift
1982: The Strange Museum by Tom Paulin AND Why Brownlee Left by Paul Muldoon (currently out of print)
1981: Waiting for the Barbarians by J M Coetzee
1980: Love by Hugo Williams AND The Slant Door by George Szirtes (both currently out of print)
1979: The Monkey King by Timothy Mo
1978: Dreams of the Dead by David Harsent AND The Bear Looked over the Mountain by Kit Wright (both currently out of print)
1977: The Story of the Weasel by Carolyn Slaughter (currently out of print)
1976: Love or Nothing by Douglas Dunn (currently out of print)
1975: In the Middle of a Life by Richard B Wright (currently out of print)
1974: Cannibals and Missionariesby John Fuller (currently out of print)
1973: Pasmore by David Storey (currently out of print)
1972: The Loiners by Tony Harrison (currently out of print)
1971: Troubles by J G Farrell
1970: King Log by Geoffrey Hill (currently out of print)
1969: The Junkers by Piers Paul Read ((currently out of print)
1968: Death of a Naturalist by Seamus Heaney
1967: Remedy is None by William McIlvanney AND The Man with the Chocolate Egg by John Noone (both currently out of print)

Latest Blog
GUEST BLOG: Why does the Ukraine crisis matter to the West?

Andrew Wilson, author of Ukraine Crisis: What It Means for the West, highlights the issues that matter about the Kiev Uprising and Russia's response.

GUEST BLOG: India's forgotten sacrifice

Author Catherine Hall reveals the surprising history of Brighton Pavilion and its Indian guests during World War I.

GUEST BLOG: Meetings with remarkable Londoners

The author of Londonopolis: A Curious History of London picks ten of its most unusual inhabitants, including the real-life inspiration for a Bond villain, the artist that even Turner felt inferior to and the pattern-cutter who took the fashion world by storm.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd