Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Browse Menu:
Clear all
Selections
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear
Clear all
Refine by
Clear
Availability
Ready for Despatch
To Order From Suppliers
Pre-Orders
1
Clear
Highlights & Offers
New Arrivals
Current Favourites
Signed Copies
Coming Soon
1
Foyles Recommends
Staff Choice
Author Choice
1
Clear
Formats
Books
Audiobooks
Digital or Media
Sheet Music
Gifts & Stationery
Maps
1
Clear
In Language
Afrikaans
Albanian
Amharic
Arabic
Armenian
Assamese
Assyrian
Awa
Azerbaijani
Balinese
Balti
Basque
Belarusian
Bemba
Bengali
Bislama
Bosnian
Breton
Bulgarian
Burmese (Myanmar)
C. African General
C. Asian General
Cambodian/Khmer
Caribbean Creole
Catalan
Caucasus General
Chechen
Chichewa
Chinese: Cantonese
Chinese: Mandarin
Cornish
Croatian
Czech
Danish
Dari
Dholuo
Dutch
E. African General
E. European General
English
Esperanto
Estonian
Faroese
Fijian
Finnish
French
General L&L
Georgian
German
Greek
Greenlandic
Guarani
Gujarati
Haitian Creole
Hausa
Hawaiian
Hebrew
Hindi
Hindustani
Hungarian
Ibo/Igbo
Icelandic
Ilokano
Indian General
Indonesian
Ingush
Inuktitut
Irish
Italian
Jamaican English
Japanese
Javanese
Jèrriais
Kannada
Karao
Kashmiri
Kazakh
Khasi
Kirghiz
Kisi
Konkani
Korean
Kurdish
Kwamera
Ladino
Lakota
Lao
Latin
Latvian
Lingala
Lithuanian
Luganda
Luxembourgish
Macedonian
Malagasy
Malay
Malayalam
Maldivian
Maltese
Mambwe
Mandinka
Manipuri
Manx
Maori
Marathi
Mauritian
Mongolian
Multilingual
Navajo
Nepali
Nordic General
Northern Sotho
Norwegian
Old English
Oriya
Oshindonga
Other Euro General
Pacific General
Pali
Papiamento
Pashto/Pushto
Persian/Farsi
Pidgin
Polish
Portuguese
Punjabi
Quechua
Romanian
Rotuman
Russian
S. African General
S. American General
Samoan
Sanskrit
Scottish Gaelic
Senoi
Serbian
Serbo-Croat
Sesotho
Setswana
Shona
Sign Language
Sindhi
Sinhalese
Slovak
Slovene
Somali
Spanish
Swahili
Swedish
Syriac
Tagalog (Filipino)
Tahitian
Taiwanese: Hokkien
Tajik
Tamazight
Tamil
Tatar
Telugu
Thai
Tibetan
Tigrinya
Tokelau
Tolo
Tongan
Tsonga
Tswana
Turkish
Turkmen
Tuvaluan
Twi
Ukrainian
Urdu
Uzbek
Vietnamese
W. African General
Wankumara
Warndarang
Welsh
White Hmong
Wolof
Xhosa
Yiddish
Yoruba
Zulu
1
Clear
Price
£to £

Social & cultural history

Showing 1-16 of top 150 Results.

Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow
(Paperback)
Yuval Noah Harari
Asks the fundamental questions: Where do we go from here? And how will we protect this fragile world from our own destructive powers? This book explores the projects, dreams and...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
(Hardback)
Elena Favilli; Francesca Cavallo
 
Vibrantly illustrated and truly inspirational, Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls tells the stories of 100 heroic women from Elizabeth I to Serena Williams What if ...
Delivery:
 
£17.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£17.99
 
The Descent of Man
(Paperback)
Grayson Perry
 
'A breeze of a read, makes you see our male-manufactured world a little differently' Matt Haig'GRAYSON PERRY FOR KING AND QUEEN OF ENGLAND. Imagine how BRILLIANT our...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White...
(Hardback)
Reni Eddo-Lodge
 
'One of the most important books of 2017' Nikesh Shukla, editor of The Good Immigrant A powerful and provocative argument on the role that race and racism play in...
Delivery:
 
£16.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£16.99
 
Blitzed: Drugs in Nazi Germany
(Paperback)
Norman Ohler; Shaun Whiteside
 
THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER 'The most brilliant and fascinating book I have read in my entire life' Dan Snow 'A huge contribution...remarkable' Antony Beevor, BBC...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of...
(Paperback)
Margot Lee Shetterly
 
#1 New York Times Bestseller NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE Oscar Nominated For Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Black and British: An Untold Story
(Hardback)
David Olusoga
 
In Black and British, award-winning historian and broadcaster David Olusoga offers readers a rich and revealing read.
Delivery:
 
£25.00
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£25.00
 
The Pigeon Tunnel: Stories from My Life
(Paperback)
John Le Carre
 
THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER 'Out of the secret world I once knew, I have tried to make a theatre for the larger worlds we inhabit. First comes...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Flaneuse: Women Walk the City in...
(Paperback)
Lauren Elkin
 
Flaneuse [flanne-euhze], noun, from French. Feminine form of flaneur [flanne-euhr], an idler. In this book, the author defines her as 'a determined resourceful woman keenly attuned to the creative potential...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
Queer City: Gay London from the ...
(Hardback)
Peter Ackroyd
 
Looks at London in a whole new way - through the history and experiences of its gay population. In this book, the author takes us right into the hidden history...
Delivery:
 
£16.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£16.99
 
Estuary: Out from London to the Sea
(Paperback)
Rachel Lichtenstein
 
LONGLISTED FOR THE GORDON BURN PRIZE 2017A hauntingly beautiful social history of the Thames Estuary, from the author of On Brick LaneOut at the eastern edge of...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
Les Parisiennes: How the Women of...
(Paperback)
Anne Sebba
 
For readers of Suite Francaise and But You Did Not Come Back, Les Parisiennes recounts the true stories of Parisian women during and after the Second World War.
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
The Optician of Lampedusa
(Paperback)
Emma-Jane Kirby
'Poetically written, absorbing, harrowing' The Times 'The raw and emotional account of an optician whose family fishing trip suddenly placed him amid the human...
Delivery:
 
£7.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£7.99
 
Jane Austen at Home: A Biography
(Hardback)
Lucy Worsley
Historian Lucy Worsley visits Jane Austen at home, exploring the author's life through the places which meant the most to her.
Delivery:
 
£25.00
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£25.00
 
Black and British: A Forgotten History
(Paperback)
David Olusoga
 
A story of the long relationship between the British Isles and the people of Africa and the Caribbean. It shows that the great industrial boom of the nineteenth century was...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
Empire of Things: How We Became a...
(Paperback)
Frank Trentmann
 
'Magnificent ... groundbreaking ... a triumph' Peter Frankopan, author of The Silk Roads'A masterpiece, a delight to read ... a rare and beautiful thing' Gerard...
Delivery:
 
£12.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12noon today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£12.99
 

Latest Blog
#FoylesFive: Picture Books for Black History Month
20/10/2017

Our Birmingham shop is celebrating Black History Month with an array of new and exciting picture books for children.

Caroline Taggart on Why Punctuation Can be Surprisingly Exciting
18/10/2017

Caroline Taggart explains the versatility of punctuation.

Under the Knife: Recreating the Grimy World of Victorian Surgery
17/10/2017

Lindsey describes how she made the trailer for her debut The Butchering Art in order to see how the sights, sounds, and smells of this gruesome period in medical history would translate onto the screen.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd