Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
A Year of Books
Account Services
Our Chelmsford shop
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Baileys Longlist Announced

8th March 2017

The longlist has been announced for the 2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

This year’s list honours both new and well-established writers and different genres: the longlist features three former winners of the Prize – Eimear McBride (2014), Rose Tremain (2008) and Linda Grant (2000) – alongside three previously shortlisted authors. There are three first novels on the list and six nationalities are represented - UK, Ireland, America, Canada, South Africa and Nigeria.

The longlist in full:

Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀ -  Stay With Me   

Naomi Alderman  - The Power  Read our exclusive author interview

Margaret Atwood - Hag-seed  Read an exclusive blog about the Hogarth Shakespeare project:

Emma Flint - Little Deaths  Read our exclusive author interview

Mary Gaitskill - The Mare

Linda Grant - The Dark Circle

Eimear McBride - The Lesser Bohemians Read our exclusive author Iiterview

Fiona Melrose - Midwinter

C.E. Morgan - The Sport of Kings

Yewande Omotoso - The Woman Next Door

Heather O'Neill - The Lonely Hearts Hotel 

Sarah Perry - The Essex Serpent  Read our exclusive author interview

Annie Proulx - Barkskins  Read our exclusive interview with the author here

Gwendoline Riley - First Love

Madeleine Thien - Do Not Say we have Nothing

Rose Tremain - The Gustav Sonata


The judges for the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction are:
Tessa Ross, (Chair), CEO House Productions
Sam Baker, Journalist, Author and Co-Founder of The Pool
Katie Derham, Presenter and Broadcaster
Aminatta Forna, Novelist, Memoirist and Essayist
Sara Pascoe, Comic and Author

Making the announcement, Tessa Ross, said, 'The judges had a large number of books of extraordinary quality to choose from this year, and so I can’t say that it was an easy process to come up with a list as short as sixteen.
However, we’re all thrilled by where we’ve ended up and truly excited by the quality and range of talent on this year’s longlist. It’s a great showcase for the very best contemporary women’s fiction – we hope that it will inspire
readers everywhere.'

The shortlist will be announced on 3 April and the winner on 7 June 2017. Last year's winner was Lisa McInerney for The Glorious Heresies.

Related Items

The Woman Next Door
Yewande Omotoso

Currently out of stock

Annie Proulx
The Mare
Mary Gaitskill
The Lesser Bohemians
Eimear McBride
The Dark Circle: Shortlisted for the...
Linda Grant

Currently out of stock

Hag-Seed: The Tempest Retold
Margaret Atwood

Currently out of stock

The Power
Naomi Alderman

Currently out of stock

Fiona Melrose
Little Deaths
Emma Flint
First Love
Gwendoline Riley
The Gustav Sonata
Rose Tremain
Stay with Me
Ayobami Adebayo
The Lonely Hearts Hotel: the Bailey's...
Heather O'Neill
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close