Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Baileys Shortlist Revealed

3rd April 2017

Three British authors, one Canadian author, an American author and a Nigerian writer are in the running for the prestigious Baileys prize. The list features one previous winner, Linda Grant, for her novel When I Lived in Modern Times (2000) and a debut novelist, Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀ for Stay With Me. Naomi Alderman won the Orange Award for New Writers in 2006. Madeleine Thien's Do Not Say We Have Nothing was shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker Prize.

Making the announcement, Tessa Ross, Chair of Judges, said "It has been a great privilege to Chair the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction in a year which has proved exceptional for writing of both quality and originality... From Kentucky in the 19th century to a dystopian future to a post-war sanatorium in the English countryside to 1980s Nigeria, the shortlist celebrates narratives that are daring and intimate, that examine the depth of human experience in unique and compelling ways. We were both impressed and moved by memorable characters, from a young woman fleeing her home in China to a writer coming to terms with her failing marriage. These were the six novels that stayed with all of us well beyond the final page."


Baileys shortlist in full:

Stay With Me by Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀ See our exclusive author interview

The Power by Naomi Alderman Read our exclusive author interview

The Dark Circle by Linda Grant

The Sport of Kings by C E Morgan

First Love by Gwendoline Riley

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien


Tessa Ross (Chair), CEO House Productions is joined on the panel by: Sam Baker, Journalist, Author and Co‐Founder of The Pool; Katie Derham, Presenter and Broadcaster; Aminatta Forna, Novelist, Memoirist and Essayist; Sara Pascoe, Comic and Author.


The winner, to be announced 7th June, will be presented with a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze statue known as 'The Bessie'. Last year's winner was Lisa McInerney for her debut The Glorious Heresies.


Related Items

First Love
Gwendoline Riley
Stay with Me
Ayobami Adebayo
Do Not Say We Have Nothing
Madeleine Thien
The Sport of Kings
C. E. Morgan
Latest Blog
Richard Aronowitz on the darkness lurking in his past and its connection to his role as a Nazi loot-hunter at the auction house, Sothebys

Richard talks about the darkness lurking in his past and its connection to his role as a Nazi loot-hunter at the auction house, Sothebys.

Finding Awe in the Extremes

Brian describes how his ambivalence at having served in the Iraq war, and the awe to be found in extremes, provided the basis for his novel.

On National Brothers Day, Stuart Heritage Reflects on his Relationship with his Brother, Pete

On National Brothers Day, Stuart Heritage reflects on fraternal dynamics, how he came to write about the 'whirlwind of aggressive single-mindedness' that is his brother Pete and how their relationship is reflected by that of brothers everywhere.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd