Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
A Year of Books
Account Services
Our Chelmsford shop
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Winner of T S Eliot Award for Poetry Announced

17th January 2017

Jacob Polley has won the 2016 T.S. Eliot prize for his collection Jackself

 Chair of judges, Ruth Padel, described Jackself as 'a firework of a book; inventive, exciting and outstanding in its imaginative range and depth of feeling'.

One of the most original books of poetry to appear in the last decade, Jackself spins a kind of 'fictionalized autobiography' through the many 'Jacks' of our folklore, legend, phrase and fable - everyman Jacks and no one Jacks, Jackdaw, Jack-O-Lantern, Jack Sprat, Cheapjack and Jack Frost. 

Jacob received an Eric Gregory Award in 2002, and has previously been shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize for both The Brink and The Havocs. He was named one of the ‘Next Generation’ of the 20 best new poets in Britain in 2004.

Described as ‘the prize most poets want to win’ (Sir Andrew Motion, former Poet Laureate) and ‘the world’s top poetry award’ (Independent), The T. S. Eliot Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new collection of poetry published in the UK and Ireland.

Joining Polley on the shortlist were:

Rachael Boast - Void Studies

Vahni Capildeo - Measures of Expatriation

Ian Duhig - The Blind Road-Maker

J O Morgan - Interference Pattern

Bernard O’Donoghue - The Seasons of Cullen Church

Alice Oswald - Falling Awake

Denise Riley - Say Something Back

Ruby Robinson - Every Little Sound

Katharine Towers - The Remedies


You can read a poem from the collection and also watch a video of Polley reading 'Every Creeping Thing', plus read 'An Age' here.

Related Items

Interference Pattern
J. O. Morgan
Measures of Expatriation
Vahni Capildeo
The Blind Roadmaker
Ian Duhig
Say Something Back
Denise Riley
Every Little Sound
Ruby Robinson
Falling Awake
Alice Oswald
Jacob Polley
The Remedies
Katharine Towers
The Seasons of Cullen Church
Bernard O'Donoghue
Void Studies
Rachael Boast
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close