Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Chelmsford shop
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Shortlist Announced for Wellcome Book Prize 2014

25th February 2014

The shortlist has been announced for the Wellcome Book Prize 2014.

Authors Elizabeth Gilbert, Emily Mayhew, Adam Rutherford, Oliver Sacks, Andrew Solomon and Sarah Wise are all in contention for this year's Prize, which will be presented at a ceremony at Wellcome Collection on 29 April.
The shortlist was decided by a panel of judges comprising author Lisa Appignanesi, journalist Hadley Freeman, scientist and TV presenter Michael Mosley and novelist and Head of Spoken Word at the Southbank Centre James Runcie, chaired by former Poet Laureate Andrew Motion.

The short list spans genres and brings together six diverse explorations of medicine and health, including The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert, a novel about botany and exploration; Wounded: From Battlefield to Blighty by Emily Mayhew, the story of an injured World War I soldier; Far From the Tree: A dozen kinds of love by Andrew Solomon, a survey of parenting and human difference; Creation: The origin of life by Adam Rutherford a scientific account of the story of life; Hallucinations by Oliver Sacks a study of hallucinations; and Inconvenient People by Sarah Wise a history of lunacy and asylums in Victorian times.

The Wellcome Book Prize, which was relaunched in November to celebrate its fifth anniversary, will award £30 000 to the best book of fiction or non-fiction from 2013 which leads on a medical theme. The winner will be announced on 29 April.

Announcing the shortlist, Chair of judges Andrew Motion said: 'We have produced a shortlist that covers an exciting range of subjects and genres - six excellent books that in their different ways all tell us new and often surprising things about the human condition.'

Previous winners of the prize include Thomas Wright for Circulation in 2012 and Alice LaPlante for Turn of Mind in 2011.

Related Items

Oliver Sacks
Wounded: From Battlefield to Blighty,...
Emily Mayhew

Currently out of stock

Creation: The Origin of Life / The...
Adam Rutherford
Latest Blog
#FoylesFave: Dr Seuss

Matt from our Web Team is very silly. Maybe this explains his love for Dr Seuss, especially this new glow in the dark edition of What Was I Scared Of?

Read an Extract from A Skinful of Shadows

Read an extract from the eagerly awaited new novel by the Costa-winning Frances Hardinge, A Skinful of Shadows.

#FoylesFive: Elsewhere-Elsewhen

Jen from the Web Team shares a selection of books that will transport the reader to another time and place.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd