Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Jennifer Egan wins LA Times Book Prize

3rd May 2011

Jennifer Egan has triumphed in the fiction category of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for her novel A Visit from the Goon Squad, just weeks after winning the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for the same title.

Other winners at the ceremony, held at the Los Angeles Times building in California, included Tom Franklin, who was victorious in the mystery/thriller category with Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

Laura Hillenbrand's Unbroken, charting the true story of a World War II fighter pilot who crashed in the Pacific Ocean and swam thousands of miles to safety, triumphed in the biography category, while the young adult prize was won by Megan Whalen Turner's A Conspiracy of Kings.

Egan has garnered significant acclaim for A Visit from the Goon Squad in recent months, scooping the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction and making the shortlist for the PEN/Faulkner prize, as well as being named in Time magazine's 100 most influential people of 2011 list.

The novel is now being adapted into a TV series by HBO, which created The Sopranos, itself a partial inspiration for A Visit from the Goon Squad.

Latest Blog
How to Change the World: Stop Harming Women

Human rights barrister and a researcher at the Gender and Social Justice Centre at Cambridge University, Dexter Dias introduces his new book and explains how we can change the course of the 21st century if we can stop harming women.

The Book that Inspired Pink Floyd and Walt Disney

We're celebrating the opening this month at the London Palladium of The Wind in the Willows: the Musical with a selection of things you might not know about the bok and its author, Kenneth Grahame.

The Miracle of Creativity's Springs, Coils and Gears

As his epic new standalone thriller is published, Deon Meyer reflects on the creative process.

View all Blog Entries
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd