Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

The Green Carnation Prize


The Green Carnation Prize honours the best in fiction and memoir by lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender writers worldwide, including works in translation. Since 2014, the award has been presented in association with Foyles, with the award ceremony and supporting events to be hosted at our flagship store.

The prize was born when journalist and blogger Simon Savidge saw a tweet by the author Paul Magrs bemoaning the lack of a literary award for gay men; a panel for the first year's judging was swiftly assembled.

In the first year, Christopher Fowler's memoir, Paperboy, was declared the winner. Following a highly positive reaction, the 2011 prize was opened up to include all LGBT writers and, in 2012, to works in translation as well as original English-language titles.

The 2012 panel had such difficulty picking a winner than the declaration of the winner was delayed by six days: joint winners were eventually announced.

The 2015 winner was A Brief History in Seven Killings by Marlon James.

The ten-strong 2016 longlist, announced 24 March 2017, featured a record three poets – a reflection of the astonishing growth in the poetry market, Will Eaves and John McCullough claim their place on the list and are joined by fellow poet and winner of the 2014 Forward Prize, Kei Miller, who is longlisted for his novel, Augustown.

The shortlist was announced on the 28th April and the winner on 22nd May at Foyles, Charing Cross Road, was declared to be David France's insider account of the AIDS epidemic, How to Survive a Plague: The Story of How Activists Tamed AIDS. Read the announcement here.

 

 

The 2016 Shortlist

London Lies Beneath
(Paperback)
Stella Duffy
 
A compelling historical novel set in south London 1912 - based on a true story
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
How to Survive a Plague: The Story of...
(Hardback)
David France
 
Winner of The Green Carnation Prize for LGBTQ literature Winner of the Lambda Literary Award for LGBT non-fiction Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize...
Delivery:
 
£25.00
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£25.00
 
What Belongs to You
(Paperback)
Garth Greenwell
 
CHOSEN IN OVER FIFTY BEST BOOKS OF 2016 LISTS, FROM NINE COUNTRIES. SHORTLISTED FOR THE DEBUT OF THE YEAR AWARD AT THE 2017 BRITISH BOOK AWARDS. On an unseasonably...
Delivery:
 
£7.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£7.99
 
A Portable Shelter
(Paperback)
Kirsty Logan
 
In their tiny, sea-beaten cottage on the north coast of Scotland, Liska and Ruth await the birth of their first child. Each passes the time by telling the baby stories...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Augustown
(Paperback)
Kei Miller
 
From Kei Miller, the winner of the 2014 Forward Prize, a magical and haunting novel set in the underbelly of Jamaica.
Delivery:
 
£12.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£12.99
 

Stores - out of stock

The 2016 Longlist

Straight Jacket
(Hardback)
Matthew Todd
 
Part memoir, part polemic, this book looks beneath the shiny facade of contemporary gay culture and asks if gay people are as happy as they could be - and if...
Delivery:
 
£16.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£16.99
 
The Inevitable Gift Shop
(Paperback)
Will Eaves
 
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Where the Trees Were
(Paperback)
Inga Simpson
 
A gripping, moving novel about a group of childhood friends grappling with the moral dilemmas posed by Australia's history - perfect for fans of Kate Grenville.
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Our Young Man
(Hardback)
Edmund White
 
'Has everyone always been in love with you? Of course they have, who am I kidding? What did they say about Helen of Troy? That her face launched a thousand...
Delivery:
 
£18.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£18.99
 
Spacecraft
(Paperback)
John McCullough
 
Spacecraft navigates white space of the page and distances between people. Margins, edges and coastlines abound in McCullough's tender explorations of contemporary life and love. From lichen to lava lamps...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 

Currently out of stock

Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
A Portable Shelter
(Paperback)
Kirsty Logan
 
In their tiny, sea-beaten cottage on the north coast of Scotland, Liska and Ruth await the birth of their first child. Each passes the time by telling the baby stories...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
How to Survive a Plague: The Story of...
(Hardback)
David France
 
Winner of The Green Carnation Prize for LGBTQ literature Winner of the Lambda Literary Award for LGBT non-fiction Shortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize...
Delivery:
 
£25.00
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£25.00
 
London Lies Beneath
(Paperback)
Stella Duffy
 
A compelling historical novel set in south London 1912 - based on a true story
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Augustown
(Paperback)
Kei Miller
 
From Kei Miller, the winner of the 2014 Forward Prize, a magical and haunting novel set in the underbelly of Jamaica.
Delivery:
 
£12.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£12.99
 

Stores - out of stock

What Belongs to You
(Paperback)
Garth Greenwell
 
CHOSEN IN OVER FIFTY BEST BOOKS OF 2016 LISTS, FROM NINE COUNTRIES. SHORTLISTED FOR THE DEBUT OF THE YEAR AWARD AT THE 2017 BRITISH BOOK AWARDS. On an unseasonably...
Delivery:
 
£7.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£7.99
 

Previous winners

2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

2014 Any Other Mouth by Anneliese Mackintosh.

2013 Far from the Tree by Andrew Solomon

2012 A Perfectly Good Man by Patrick Gale AND Moffie by André Carl Van Der Merwe

2011 The Proof of Love by Catherine Hall

2010 Paperboy by Christopher Fowler

Latest Blog
Daniel Gray Finds Paradise between the Pages
27/06/2017

Exclusively for Foyles in Independent Bookshop Week, Daniel Gray finds paradise on the page and in the bookshop.

#FoylesFive: Children's Pride
26/06/2017

Andi from our Birmingham branch shares her favourite children's books that are perfect for Pride.

How to Change the World: Stop Harming Women
22/06/2017

Human rights barrister and a researcher at the Gender and Social Justice Centre at Cambridge University, Dexter Dias introduces his new book and explains how we can change the course of the 21st century if we can stop harming women.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd