Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Go to Checkout
Our Chelmsford shop
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Robert Allison

About The Author


Robert AllisonRobert Allison was born in Yorkshire. He has worked as a theatre director and as a reviewer for film and music. He has had more than 20 pieces of short fiction published internationally in print and online journals.

His first novel is The Letter Bearer, set at about the time of the First Battle of El Alamein. It opens with an unnamed motorcycle despatch rider lying badly injured in the north African desert, a bag of letters intended for loved ones in his bag. He has no recollection of his mission or even his own name.

Robbed by first passing German troops and then local tribesmen, he expects to die where he lies, but overnight he is found by a small band of deserters. He has little time to recuperate at their encampment before their makeshift outpost is found by the Italians and the motley group is forced to move on. Still with no knowledge of who he is, the rider is forced to tag along - perhaps the letters he is carrying with him offer some clue?

A beautifully written and gripping story of the moral ambiguity of war and the fragility of our very identities, it's a novel that will appeal to fans of Michael Ondaatje's The English Patient or Pat Barker's Toby's Room.

In this exclusive interview with Foyles, Robert talks about developing a backstory for a character without a name, the problems with democracy in a military setting and the peculiarity of fighting over tracts of empty desert.


Questions & Answers


The Letter BearerYou've also worked in theatre as a director; are there any parallels between directing a play and writing a novel?

In both disciplines you're looking for ways to maintain narrative pace and momentum. But of course with directing you have the benefit of working to a ready-made dramatic structure, which I think makes novel writing a much stiffer challenge.

 

So much about the 'rider' remains a mystery; did you develop an untold backstory to help you create and direct the character?

Very much so. I had a complete chronology of events written out along with several chapters involving episodes from earlier in the character's life. There was quite a bit of material in fact and I was sorry not to include more of it in the book. But in the end it didn't fall within the scope of the narrative.

 

The rider encounters a cast of dubious characters at the encampment; were you keen to avoid any romanticising of wartime exploits?

I was more interested in putting a lens on characters who have removed themselves from the straightforward obligations of military rank. A group of abstainers having to survive by their wits seemed a more provocative and morally complex premise.

 

Brinkhurst is the ranking officer, but doesn't mention it when first introducing himself and the encampment is run on loosely democratic lines. Does this reflect a breakdown in military discipline or Brinkhurst's pragmatically manipulative nature, 'casually shuffling the truth'?

There's certainly an element of spin in Brinkhurst's presentation because he wants to sell the idea of a democratic collective. But it also goes to the conflicted nature of his character. On the one hand he sees himself as striking out against a command structure which has failed in the field, yet on the other his conditioning, training and class status mandates that he's the group's natural leader. It's a balance he struggles to find throughout.

 

Does the novel suggest a dichotomy for soldiers, in that it is in the interest of the cause to fight but in the individual's interest to focus on self-preservation?

It's actually one of the things that intrigued me most about this particular theatre of war, because here you have a combat zone thousands of miles from any kind of recognisable civilisation, and where many battles were fought over tracts of empty desert. I think that whenever a combatant nation's civilian population isn't directly implicated, that balance between selflessness and self-preservation is naturally going to become more precarious.

 

There are a few instances of the use of graphic elements - a returned letter, a diagram showing how to hold a gun, Coates scrawling his words in chalk - in the text of your novel. Given the rich and diverse vocabulary you employ, why did you decide to do this?

Part of the rider's early recovery involves the re-indexing of his visual memory, and so I wanted the reader to receive certain ideas instantaneously in order to simulate that process. With Coates, the intention was slightly different: prior to his injury he's the one individual from the group who engages with the rider in a conversational way, so that when he loses his voice he effectively loses his identity. The attempts at communication he makes afterwards are rendered graphically to both underscore his predicament and emphasise the parallel with the rider's own loss of self-expression.

 

Can you tell us anything about what you'll be working on next?

It's broadly a mystery/suspense story set in an English boarding school immediately post-WWI. I have some very interesting ideas for it and I can't wait to get started!


Available Titles By This Author

The Letter Bearer
(Hardback)
Robert Allison
 
 
£12.99
 

Currently out of stock

Past Events for this Author

Latest Blog
An extract from The Fire This Time
18/04/2018

Edited by National Book Award-winning author Jesmyn Ward, The Fire This Time is a collection of essays and poems exploring black experience in modern-day America, in a response to James Baldwin's groundbreaking 1963 essay collection The Fire Next Time.

Swither, Shoogle, Wheesht - Kirsty Logan on the language of The Gloaming
17/04/2018

Kirsty Logan's second novel, The Gloaming, is a swirling tale threaded through with magic, heartbreak, love and mermaids. It is studded with evocative but perhaps unfamiliar words, adding atmosphere, mood and expression. Exclusively for Foyles, she has written about some of these Scottish words, that head up each chapter of the book.

Rose's Dress of Dreams
13/04/2018

The latest in Barrington Stoke's Little Gems series for younger readers tells the story of dressmaker to the Queen of France, Marie Antoinette. Its author Katherine Woodfine tells us about her inspiration for the book.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd