Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search

Search Results

A Brief History of Time - save up to 30%

This year sees the once-in-a-quadrennium occurrence of a leap day, to help keep the calendar and the solar year in sync. Time is a concept that has intrigued scientists and philosophers for millennia and it's proved quite a draw to writers too. So here's our selection of some of the best books on time: time travellers, the physics of time, the perception of time, watches and clocks....

Showing 1-16 of top 39 Results.

Q: A Love Story
(Hardback)
Evan J. Mandery
 
In a gripping tale of time travel and true love that will appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and The Adventures of Max Tivoli, a successful writer meets...
Delivery:
 
 
 

Currently out of stock

Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
 
 

Stores - out of stock

Being and Time
(Paperback)
Martin Heidegger; Joan Stambaugh;...
 
Delivery:
£14.50
£10.59
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£14.50
£13.05
10%
A Brief History Of Time: From Big ...
(Paperback)
Stephen Hawking
 
Was there a beginning of time? Could time run backwards? Is the universe infinite or does it have boundaries? These are just some of the questions considered in an internationally...
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.74
25%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.09
10%
Around the World in Eighty Days
(Paperback)
Jules Verne
 
One night in the reform club, Phileas Fogg bets his companions that he can travel across the globe in just eighty days. He sets off with his valet Passepartout, and...
Delivery:
£7.99
£5.83
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£7.99
£7.19
10%
Hyperion
(Paperback)
Dan Simmons
 
The book that reinvented Space Opera.
Delivery:
£9.99
£7.29
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£9.99
£8.99
10%
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
(Paperback)
Yasutaka Tsutsui; David Karashima
 
One of Tsutsui's best-known and most popular works in his native Japan, The Girl Who Leapt through Time is the story of fifteen-year-old schoolgirl Kazuko, who accidentally discovers that she...
Delivery:
£7.99
£5.83
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£7.99
£7.19
10%
Time
(Paperback)
Eva Hoffman
 
Time has always been the great Given, a fact of existence which cannot be denied or wished away; but the character of lived time is changing dramatically. This book offers...
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.56
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.09
10%
The Echo Chamber
(Paperback)
Luke Williams
 
In coming into the world Evie Steppman pushed her mother out of it. Born two months late but with an extraordinary gift of hearing, Evie has an impression of the...
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.56
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.99
 

Stores - out of stock

The Time Paradox: Using the New...
(Paperback)
Philip G. Zimbardo; John Boyd
 
Every significant choice, every important decision we make, is determined by our perception of time. This is the most influential force in our lives, yet we are virtually unaware of...
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.56
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.09
10%
Century Rain
(Paperback)
Alastair Reynolds
 
Part hard SF thriller, part interstellar adventure, part noir romance, CENTURY RAIN is the new bestseller from Al Reynolds
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.56
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.09
10%
Rip Van Winkle and Other Stories
(Paperback)
Washington Irving
 
Includes tales that range from fantasy to romance.
Delivery:
£6.99
£5.10
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£6.99
£6.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Seasons of Life: The Biological...
(Paperback)
Leon Kreitzman; Russell G. Foster
 
The new world of chronobiology is popular science at its most exciting: understanding how the seasons regulate the life of every human, plant and animal on Earth. This book explains...
Delivery:
£9.99
£7.29
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£9.99
£9.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Thief of Time: (Discworld Novel 26)
(Paperback)
Terry Pratchett
 
Time isn't a toy to be played with. It's bigger than all of us. It exists outside the artificial and arbitrary divisions into which humankind has presumptuously shoehorned it. It...
Delivery:
£7.99
£5.83
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£7.99
£7.19
10%
Time: A User's Guide
(Paperback)
Stefan Klein
 
Explores the hidden dimensions of time, looking at everything from when the present becomes the past to the tribe that see the future backwards, from when sex is best to...
Delivery:
£10.99
£8.02
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£10.99
£9.89
10%
The Time Traveller: One Man's Mission...
(Paperback)
Ronald L. Mallett; Bruce Henderson
 
Ron Mallett was just 10 when his father died suddenly. Devastated, he found solace in the science fiction of HG Wells, believing that if he could build a time machine...
Delivery:
£8.99
£6.56
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£8.99
£8.99
 

Stores - out of stock

The Confessions of Max Tivoli
(Paperback)
Andrew Sean Greer
 
Max Tivoli is writing the story of his life. He is nearly seventy years old, but he looks as if he is only seven - for Max is ageing backwards...
Delivery:
£7.99
£5.83
27%
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£7.99
£7.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Latest Blog
GUEST BLOG: Behind the magic
21/11/2014

Rob Ryan reveals how he put together his stunning paper-cut and screen-printed illustrations to create his latest book, The Kingdom Revealed.

GUEST BLOG: Why does the Ukraine crisis matter to the West?
19/11/2014

Andrew Wilson, author of Ukraine Crisis: What It Means for the West, highlights the issues that matter about the Kiev Uprising and Russia's response.

GUEST BLOG: India's forgotten sacrifice
05/11/2014

Author Catherine Hall reveals the surprising history of Brighton Pavilion and its Indian guests during World War I.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd