Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search

Search Results

A Brief History of Time - save up to 30%

This year sees the once-in-a-quadrennium occurrence of a leap day, to help keep the calendar and the solar year in sync. Time is a concept that has intrigued scientists and philosophers for millennia and it's proved quite a draw to writers too. So here's our selection of some of the best books on time: time travellers, the physics of time, the perception of time, watches and clocks....

Showing 1-16 of top 34 Results.

Q: A Love Story
(Hardback)
Evan J. Mandery
 
In a gripping tale of time travel and true love that will appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and The Adventures of Max Tivoli, a successful writer meets...
Delivery:
 
£16.99
 

Currently out of stock

Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£16.99
 

Stores - out of stock

A Brief History Of Time: From Big ...
(Paperback)
Stephen Hawking
Was there a beginning of time? Could time run backwards? Is the universe infinite or does it have boundaries? These are just some of the questions considered in an internationally...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
In Search of Lost Time: The Way by...
(Paperback)
Marcel Proust; Lydia Davis;...
 
A work of Proust that is translated from French original into English.
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
The Time Traveler's Wife
(Paperback)
Audrey Niffenegger
 
This extraordinary, magical novel is the story of Clare and Henry who have known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, and were married when Clare was...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Hyperion
(Paperback)
Dan Simmons
 
The book that reinvented Space Opera.
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
Time's Arrow
(Paperback)
Martin Amis
The story of a life told backwards. Its narrator, Doctor Tod T. Friendly, trapped and hurtling towards a terrible secret, moves "out of the blackest sleep" to find himself surrounded...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Being and Time: A Revised Edition of...
(Paperback)
Martin Heidegger; Joan Stambaugh;...
 
Delivery:
 
£18.95
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£18.95
 
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button:...
(Paperback)
F. Scott Fitzgerald
 
Full grown with a long, smoke-coloured beard, requiring the services of a cane and fonder of cigars than warm milk, Benjamin Button is a very curious baby indeed. And, as...
Delivery:
 
£7.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£7.99
 
Around the World in Eighty Days
(Paperback)
Jules Verne
 
One night in the reform club, Phileas Fogg bets his companions that he can travel across the globe in just eighty days. He sets off with his valet Passepartout, and...
Delivery:
 
£7.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£7.99
 
Century Rain
(Paperback)
Alastair Reynolds
 
Part SF thriller, part interstellar adventure, part noir crime, CENTURY RAIN is as astonishing bestseller from Alastair Reynolds
Delivery:
 
£10.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£10.99
 
Longitude
(Paperback)
Dava Sobel
 
The tenth anniversary edition of the dramatic human story of an epic scientific quest: the search for the solution of how to calculate longitude and the unlikely triumph of an...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Timequake
(Paperback)
Kurt Vonnegut
 
Addresses memory, suicide, the Great Depression, the loss of American eloquence, and the obsolescent thrill of reading books.
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
The Picture of Dorian Gray
(Paperback)
Oscar Wilde; Irvine Welsh
 
Dorian is a good-natured young man until he falls in with the immoral Lord Henry and discovers the power of his own exceptional beauty. As he gradually sinks deep into...
Delivery:
 
£5.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£5.99
 
The Time Paradox: Using the New...
(Paperback)
Philip G. Zimbardo; John Boyd
 
Every significant choice, every important decision we make, is determined by our perception of time. This is the most influential force in our lives, yet we are virtually unaware of...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
Rip Van Winkle and Other Stories
(Paperback)
Washington Irving
 
Includes tales that range from fantasy to romance.
Delivery:
 
£6.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£6.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Time: A User's Guide
(Paperback)
Stefan Klein
 
Explores the hidden dimensions of time, looking at everything from when the present becomes the past to the tribe that see the future backwards, from when sex is best to...
Delivery:
 
£10.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£10.99
 

Latest Blog
Publisher Harriet Sanders Introduces the Macmillan Collector's Library
24/08/2016

Publisher Harriet Sanders Introduces the Macmillan Collectors Library and provides an insight into the title selection process.

Diana Bretherick on Researching in Turin, the 'Devil's City'
23/08/2016

Diana writes about her investigations into both the city of Turin and the real-life inspiration for her detective Cesare Lombroso (1835-1909), the world's first criminologist, who lived and worked in the city.

#FoylesFive: Personal Development
21/08/2016

Charlotte, from our Bristol shop, suggests five of the best books for when we need a little extra inspiration and encouragement in life.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd