Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search

Search Results

A Brief History of Time - save up to 30%

This year sees the once-in-a-quadrennium occurrence of a leap day, to help keep the calendar and the solar year in sync. Time is a concept that has intrigued scientists and philosophers for millennia and it's proved quite a draw to writers too. So here's our selection of some of the best books on time: time travellers, the physics of time, the perception of time, watches and clocks....

Showing 1-16 of top 35 Results.

Q: A Love Story
(Hardback)
Evan J. Mandery
 
In a gripping tale of time travel and true love that will appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and The Adventures of Max Tivoli, a successful writer meets...
Delivery:
 
£16.99
 

Currently out of stock

Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£16.99
 

Stores - out of stock

A Brief History Of Time: From Big ...
(Paperback)
Stephen Hawking
Was there a beginning of time? Could time run backwards? Is the universe infinite or does it have boundaries? These are just some of the questions considered in an internationally...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
In Search of Lost Time: The Way by...
(Paperback)
Marcel Proust; Lydia Davis;...
 
A work of Proust that is translated from French original into English.
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
The Time Traveler's Wife
(Paperback)
Audrey Niffenegger
 
This extraordinary, magical novel is the story of Clare and Henry who have known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, and were married when Clare was...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Hyperion
(Paperback)
Dan Simmons
 
The book that reinvented Space Opera.
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 
The End of Mr. Y
(Paperback)
Scarlett Thomas
If you knew a book was cursed, would you read it?
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Time's Arrow
(Paperback)
Martin Amis
The story of a life told backwards. Its narrator, Doctor Tod T. Friendly, trapped and hurtling towards a terrible secret, moves "out of the blackest sleep" to find himself surrounded...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Being and Time: A Revised Edition of...
(Paperback)
Martin Heidegger; Joan Stambaugh;...
 
Delivery:
 
£18.95
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£18.95
 
Century Rain
(Paperback)
Alastair Reynolds
 
Part SF thriller, part interstellar adventure, part noir crime, CENTURY RAIN is as astonishing bestseller from Alastair Reynolds
Delivery:
 
£10.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£10.99
 
Time
(Paperback)
Eva Hoffman
 
Time has always been the great Given, a fact of existence which cannot be denied or wished away; but the character of lived time is changing dramatically. This book offers...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 

Stores - out of stock

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
(Paperback)
Yasutaka Tsutsui; David Karashima
 
One of Tsutsui's best-known and most popular works in his native Japan, The Girl Who Leapt through Time is the story of fifteen-year-old schoolgirl Kazuko, who accidentally discovers that she...
Delivery:
 
£7.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£7.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Rip Van Winkle and Other Stories
(Paperback)
Washington Irving
 
Includes tales that range from fantasy to romance.
Delivery:
 
£6.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£6.99
 

Stores - out of stock

How to Live Safely in a Science...
(Paperback)
Charles Yu
 
A time machine repairman becomes trapped in a time loop of his own making: Douglas Adams collides with Douglas Coupland 'Charles Yu is a tremendously clever writer, and How...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Seasons of Life: The Biological...
(Paperback)
Leon Kreitzman; Russell G. Foster
 
The new world of chronobiology is popular science at its most exciting: understanding how the seasons regulate the life of every human, plant and animal on Earth. This book explains...
Delivery:
 
£9.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£9.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Around the World in Eighty Days
(Paperback)
Jules Verne
 
One night in the reform club, Phileas Fogg bets his companions that he can travel across the globe in just eighty days. He sets off with his valet Passepartout, and...
Delivery:
 
£7.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£7.99
 
Time: Andy Goldsworthy
(Paperback)
Andy Goldsworthy; Terry Friedman
 
Celebrates time, an element in the work of Andy Goldsworthy both as a medium and as a metaphor. This book features an introduction by the artist and a sequence of...
Delivery:
 
£28.00
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£28.00
 

Stores - out of stock

Latest Blog
Explore T S Eliot Prize-winner Jacob Polley's collection, Jackself
17/01/2017

Watch a video and read a poem from Jacob Polley's T S Eliot Prize-winning collection, Jackself.

Radiohead, Tom Waits and Joy Division: Under The Influence with Joseph Knox
17/01/2017

Exclusively for Foyles Joseph Knox talks about the music that influenced his debut, Sirens.

#FoylesFave: Furiously Happy
16/01/2017

Charlotte, from our Bristol shop, tells us why she recommends Furiously Happy!

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd