Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
In the Days of Rain: SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD

In the Days of Rain: SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD (Paperback)

£9.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£9.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£9.99
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult. `At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father...' As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on. The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished. Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him. In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.



BiographyMemoirsPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesReligion & BeliefsChristianityChristian & quasi-Christian cults & sects Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 28/12/2017 ISBN-13: 9780008209193  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Rebecca Stott is a novelist and historian. She is Professor of English Literature and Creative Writing at UEA. She lives in Norwich.

More books by Rebecca Stott

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Family: the shocking true story ...
(Paperback)
Chris Johnston; Rosie Jones
 
 
£14.99
 
Granta 137
(Paperback)
Sigrid Rausing
 
 
£12.99
 
The Teacher: The Dawning Epoch: ...
(Hardback)
Beinsa Douno; Maria Mitovska; Harry...
 
 
£29.95
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
Johann Hari Takes Issue with the Concept of Self-Help
18/01/2018

Johann Hari explains why, in order to feel better, we must stop being 'you', in favour of being 'us', being 'we', becoming part of the group.

Jealousy, Rivalry, Insecurity, Frustration... Non Pratt Explores the World of Female Teenage Friendships
16/01/2018

Non explores friendship in YA novels and especially those that depict the imperfect middle ground.

#FoylesFive: Pre-orders
15/01/2018

Matt from our Web Team jumps into the future and brings back some reading recommends for 2018.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd