Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention
Foyalty 71

The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention (Hardback)

£23.50
Despatched in 2 business days.

Synopsis

"A funny, seasoned take on dashed illusions."--O Magazine "I love everything Meredith Maran writes. She is insightful, funny, and human, and the things she writes about matter to me deeply. Her memoir, The New Old Me, is a book I don't just want to read--I need to read it. So does everyone else who's getting older and wants to live fully, with immediacy and enjoyment, which is to say, everyone."--Anne Lamott, author of Hallelujah Anyway



For readers of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman comes one woman's lusty, kickass, post-divorce memoir of starting over at 60 in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.



After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life's savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but also herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times-bestselling author of Orphan Train).



Praise for The New Old Me



"High time we had a book that celebrates becoming an elder! Meredith Maran writes of the difficulties of loss and change and aging, but makes it clear that getting on can be more interesting, more fun, and a lot more exciting than youth."--Abigail Thomas, author of the New York Times bestseller What Comes Next and How to Like It



"By turns poignant and funny, the book not only shows how one feisty woman coped with a 'Plan B life' she didn't want or expect with a little help from her friends. It also celebrates how she transformed uncertainty into a glorious opportunity for continued late-life personal growth. A spirited and moving memoir about how 'it's never too late to try something new.'"--Kirkus

BiographyBiography: generalAutobiography: generalBiographyDiaries, letters & journalsLGBT & Gender StudiesGender studiesGender studies: womenPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesPsychologyPsychology of ageingPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesSocial groups Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc Publication Date: 15/03/2017 ISBN-13: 9780399574139  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Like a lot of women her age, MEREDITH MARAN has a hard time believing she's a woman of her age. And yet she's published more than a dozen books, including The New Old Me, Why We Write About Ourselves, Why We Write, My Lie, and A Theory of Small Earthquakes. When she's not hiking Mount Hollywood, attending readings at indie bookstores, or scouring Los Angeles' finest thrift shops, she's writing for venues including The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Review of Books, The Rumpus, and Salon. The grateful recipient of fellowships from MacDowell and Yaddo and a member of the National Book Critics Circle, Meredith lives in a Silver Lake bungalow that's even older than she is.

More books by Meredith Maran

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Child that Books Built
(Paperback)
Francis Spufford
 
 
£9.99
 
Hud a Lled - Hunangofiant Eirian Wyn
(Paperback)
Eirian Wyn; Aled Islwyn
 
£9.99
£14.99
 
The Unceasing Storm
(Paperback)
Katherine Luo; Madeleine Thien
 
 
£16.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close