Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
The Story of my Heart: My Autobiography
Foyalty 36

The Story of my Heart: My Autobiography (Paperback)

Usually despatched in 14+ days.


The Story of My Heart, first published in 1883, is one of the stranger autobiographies in the English language. It describes almost nothing about the writer's life, education, family or work. Opening with a mystical experience on a green hill in the south of England seventeen years before - the date is exact, in a book that is otherwise so exalted above mere facts - it is the record of the author's striving for 'soul-life', for communion with the beauty of nature.

In impassioned prose, with echoes of Blake and Shelley, Jefferies relates the history of his feeling of identification with the sun, wind, space and the pulse of natural life. The book is a prayer to the physical world, a pantheistic rejection of modern urban life and technique: 'the sun was stronger than science; the hills more than philosophy'.

Some of the most striking passages in The Story of My Heart are descriptions of the controlled chaos of London, which represented for Jefferies the vortex of modern modern human life, a force that is 'driving, pushing, carried on in a stress of feverish force like a bullet'. A neglected classic of English nature writing, The Story of My Heart speaks to today's ecological concerns in the language of another era.

BiographyBiography: generalAutobiography: general Publisher: Faber & Faber Publication Date: 29/05/2008 ISBN-13: 9780571243341  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched in 14+ days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Richard Jefferies was born in 1848 and died in 1887. The son of an unsuccessful farmer, he had an impoverished childhood. His early novels were failures, but his love of the countryside, and a spell as a gamekeeper, allowed him to start writing pieces on nature and landscape for the Pall Mall Gazette. These were collected as The Gamekeeper at Home (1878) and Wildlife in a Southern County (1879). Their simplicity and exactness of description of rural life established his reputation, which grew with The Amateur Poacher (1879), Hodge and His Masters and Round About a Great Estate(both 1880). Hodge and His Masters is an important portrait of rural labour just before the great agricultural depression swept away many traditional crafts and settlements from the English countryside. Jefferies' most famous book today is After London (1885), a dystopian novel set in an England whose industrial society has catastrophically collapsed.

More books by Richard Jefferies

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Hud a Lled
Eirian Wyn; Aled Islwyn
Life Beneath the Arch
Charles Arch; Lyn Ebenezer
Rainbows Have Echoes
Julie Miller
The Art of Failing: Notes from the...
Anthony McGowan
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close