Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Flat White Economy: How The Digital Economy is Transforming London and Other Cities of the Future

The Flat White Economy: How The Digital Economy is Transforming London and Other Cities of the Future (Paperback)

£9.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£9.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£9.99
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

Since the financial collapse of 2000, the 'flat white economy'-named after the coffee popular with young workers of media, internet and creative businesses-has spawned four times more jobs than the City lost in the crisis. London is now growing one and a half times faster than Hong Kong as a result, with immigration a driving force behind this triumph of lifestyle and economics. Leading economist Douglas McWilliams describes how this meteoric success, centred on East London where a growing 'hipster' community has swapped the City's champagne and supercars lifestyle for bicycles, boho flats and beards, has become the prototype for digital cities around the world. The Flat White Economy is the key book you need to read on London's economy today, written by an expert in his field. Easily accessible and well written, it will appeal to fans of Stephen J. Dubner's and Steven Levitt's Freakonomics and Chris Anderson's The Long Tail.

BusinessEconomicsPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesMedia StudiesPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesSocial groupsUrban communities Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC Publication Date: 12/03/2015 ISBN-13: 9780715650653  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Douglas McWilliams is executive chairman of Cebr, one of the UK's leading specialist economics consultancies, now one of the most highly respected sources of business advice and research. In 2012 he was chosen from over 300 applicants to become the Gresham Professor of Commerce.

More books by Douglas McWilliams

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for ALL orders. No charge for each additional book. 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The New Urban Crisis: Gentrification,...
(Hardback)
Richard Florida
 
 
£20.00
 
Decentring Urban Governance:...
(Hardback)
Mark Bevir; Kim McKee; Peter Matthews
 
 
£105.00
 
Contesting the City: The Politics of...
(Hardback)
Christian D. Liddy
 
 
£75.00
 
The Routledge Handbook of Planning...
(Hardback)
Michael Gunder; Ali Madanipour;...
 
 
£165.00
 
Latest Blog
Read an Extract from A Skinful of Shadows
21/09/2017

Read an extract from the eagerly awaited new novel by the Costa-winning Frances Hardinge, A Skinful of Shadows.

#FoylesFive: Elsewhere-Elsewhen
18/09/2017

Jen from the Web Team shares a selection of books that will transport the reader to another time and place.

Growler: The Inspiration for the Now Iconic Bear
18/09/2017

James Campbell describes how the groundbreaking approach to illustration adopted by Milne and Shepard came about, which bear provided the inspiration for the drawings and which of the characters was Shepard's secret favourite.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd