Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Carrie's War

Carrie's War (Paperback)

£6.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£6.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£6.99
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Not available after 11:59 BST
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime.Puffin Modern Classics are relaunched under a new logo: A Puffin Book. There are 20 titles to collect in the series, listed below, all with exciting new covers and fun-filled endnotes.Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.'Nina Bawden - without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.***Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87.Also available in A Puffin Book: GOODNIGHT MISTER TOM and BACK HOME by Michelle Magorian CHARLOTTE'S WEB, STUART LITTLE and THE TRUMPET OF THE SWAN by E. B. White THE BORROWERS by Mary NortonSTIG OF THE DUMP by Clive KingROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY by Mildred D. TaylorA DOG SO SMALL by Philippa PearceGOBBOLINO by Ursula Moray WilliamsCARRIE'S WAR by Nina BawdenMRS FRISBY AND THE RATS OF NIMH by Richard C O'BrienA WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'EngleTHE CAY by Theodore TaylorTARKA THE OTTER by Henry WilliamsonWATERSHIP DOWN by Richard AdamsSMITH by Leon GarfieldTHE NEVERENDING STORY by Michael EndeANNIE by Thomas MeehanTHE FAMILY FROM ONE END STREET by Eve Garnett

Children'sFiction & true storiesGeneral fictionFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 03/07/2014 ISBN-13: 9780141354903  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87.

More books by Nina Bawden

More books by Julia Eccleshare

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for ALL orders. No charge for each additional book. 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Journey to Jo'Burg (Collins Modern...
(Paperback)
Beverley Naidoo
 
 
£6.99
 
The Dancing Bear
(Paperback)
Michael Morpurgo
 
 
£4.99
 
Artemis Fowl
(Paperback)
Eoin Colfer
 
 
£6.99
 
Latest Blog
#FoylesFive: Picture Books for Black History Month
20/10/2017

Our Birmingham shop is celebrating Black History Month with an array of new and exciting picture books for children.

Caroline Taggart on Why Punctuation Can be Surprisingly Exciting
18/10/2017

Caroline Taggart explains the versatility of punctuation.

Under the Knife: Recreating the Grimy World of Victorian Surgery
17/10/2017

Lindsey describes how she made the trailer for her debut The Butchering Art in order to see how the sights, sounds, and smells of this gruesome period in medical history would translate onto the screen.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd