Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Bone Sparrow: Shortlisted for the Cilip Carnegie Medal 2017

The Bone Sparrow: Shortlisted for the Cilip Carnegie Medal 2017 (Paperback)

£6.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£6.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£6.99
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Not available after 11:59 BST
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017. Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home. '...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE series Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie. Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

Children'sFiction & true storiesFamily & home stories Publisher: Hachette Children's Group Publication Date: 12/01/2017 ISBN-13: 9781510101555  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days.

Zana Fraillon lives in Victoria, Australia with her husband and three sons. She worked as a primary school teacher before having children, and has had picture books and middle grade fiction published in Australia.

More books by Zana Fraillon

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for ALL orders. No charge for each additional book. 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined
(Paperback)
Danielle Younge-Ullman
 
 
£7.99
 
The State of Grace
(Paperback)
Rachael Lucas
 
 
£6.99
 
Ellie's Magic Wellies
(Paperback)
Amy Sparkes; Nick East
 
 
£6.99
 
Flat Stanley and the Very Big Cookie
(Paperback)
Lori Haskins Houran; Jeff Brown; Jon...
 
 
£4.99
 
Latest Blog
The Lost City of Z and other Explorers' Tales
23/03/2017

As the film is released of The Lost City of Z, we take a look at other Explorers' Tales.

Sally Emerson Relives Her Life
21/03/2017

Are the novels Fire Child and Heat still shocking? They certainly are, says their author Sally Emerson, six of whose novels are being republished this year.

How Eating Well can lead to Living Better
20/03/2017

Myles Hopper describes how and why the pair became preoccupied with healthy eating.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd