Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Goldfish Boy
Foyalty 21

Goldfish Boy (Paperback)

£6.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£6.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.

Synopsis

A story about finding friendship when you're lonely - and hope when

all you feel is fear.

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD,

spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants

of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day

he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler,

Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel

the mystery of Teddy's disappearance - with the help of a brilliant

cast of supporting characters.



Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this

story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the

Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and

cry.

Children'sFiction & true storiesFamily & home stories Publisher: Scholastic Publication Date: 05/01/2017 ISBN-13: 9781407170992  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by Lisa Thompson

Customer Reviews

This absolutely WONDERFUL book is jam-packed with beautiful things from Lisa Thompson's writing style, to the characters and the story; I can't find fault with it! It was touching, thought provoking and kept me hooked the whole way through. The balance between the mystery and mental health aspects was spot on, which makes it perfect for fans of, for example, Robyn Stevens and Katherine Woodfine, but also for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Ross Welford. It's also an excellent choice for young adults and adults with an interest in mental health books. Basically, I can honestly say that I will be recommending this book to absolutely everyone I can, including fellow booksellers. As soon as I finished this book I just wanted to shove it into everyone's hands and make them read it! At its heart, it is a mystery story and one that keeps you hooked right the way through because you have no idea who the culprit is; you are seeing the world through Matthew's eyes and so only know as much as he has observed/discovered and this is something that will keep you guessing right to the end! It's one of those plots where, because it is a young boy who has gone missing, you have no idea quite how dark the book will end up being which was something that I found really enjoyable about it. As it is set within the restrictions of this one close, you get to know all of the characters and it is a story that is so easy to put yourself into, yet still full of twists and turns. In addition to being a well-written mystery, there is the element of Matthew's Obsessive Compulsive Disorder - he is essentially trapped in his bedroom with a debilitating fear of germs and dirt and will go to extreme lengths to stay clean. This is the aspect of the story that particularly caught my attention; OCD is unfortunately a very misunderstood illness and I haven't read many books that portray it particularly accurately. I was surprised to learn after reading The Goldfish Boy that Lisa Thompson ISN'T writing from personal experience because she does such an incredible job of showing OCD taking hold of a young person, the thought processes and obsessions behind it (it's not always completely illogical!) and the extremes of the compulsions. I also loved that there wasn't a magical cure by the end of the book, but there was a sense of positivity for the future.

- 27/12/2017
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Wing Jones
(Paperback)
Katherine Webber; Luke Lucas
 
£7.99
 
Wonder
(Paperback)
R. J. Palacio
 
 
£7.99
 
Time Travelling with a Hamster
(Paperback)
Ross Welford
 
 
£6.99
 
What Not to Do If You Turn Invisible
(Paperback)
Ross Welford
 
 
£6.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close