Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Painted Dragon

The Painted Dragon (Paperback)

£6.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£6.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£6.99
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

A fast-paced historical mystery adventure for readers aged 9+ years, with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell's Goth Girl series, Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike series. When a priceless painting is stolen, our dauntless heroines Sophie and Lil find themselves faced with forgery, trickery and deceit on all sides! Be amazed as the brave duo pit their wits against this perilous puzzle! Marvel at their cunning plan to unmask the villain and prove themselves detectives to be reckoned with - no matter what dangers lie ahead...It's their most perilous adventure yet! Praise for The Clockwork Sparrow: "A wonderful book, with a glorious heroine and a true spirit of adventure." (Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers). "A real page-turner, it has murders, spies and gangs of thieves. Thrilling!" (Indiana, aged 10 years, LoveReadingforKids reviewer). "Dastardliness on a big scale is uncovered in this well-plotted, evocative novel." (Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times). "It's a dashing plot, an atmospheric setting and an extensive and imaginative cast. Katherine Woodfine handles it all with aplomb." (Julia Eccleshare, Guardian).

"An incredible read full of mystery, wonder and adventure...This is now one of my top ten." (Celeste, age 13 years, LoveReading4Kids reviewer). The Painted Dragon is the third book in the Sinclair's Mysteries quartet. The other two books are the bestselling The Clockwork Sparrow and The Jewelled Moth. Katherine Woodfine is a true champion of children's literature. Until 2015 she was Arts Project Manager for Booktrust, where she project-managed the Children's Laureateship and YALC, the UK's first Young Adult Literature Convention, curated by Malorie Blackman. She is part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole, a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children's literature. Katherine blogs at followtheyellow.co.uk. She lives in London.

Children'sFiction & true storiesAdventure storiesCrime & mystery fictionChildren'sFiction & true storiesHistorical fiction Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd Publication Date: 09/02/2017 ISBN-13: 9781405282895  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days.

Katherine Woodfine is a true champion of children's literature. Until 2015 she was Arts Project Manager for Booktrust, where she project-managed the Children's Laureateship and YALC, the UK's first Young Adult Literature Convention, curated by Malorie Blackman. She is part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole, a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children's literature. Katherine blogs at followtheyellow.co.uk. She lives in London.

More books by Katherine Woodfine

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for ALL orders. No charge for each additional book. 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Violet and the Smugglers
(Paperback)
Harriet Whitehorn
 
 
£6.99
 
Moondust
(Paperback)
Gemma Fowler
 
 
£6.99
 
Keepsake
(Paperback)
Paula Leyden
 
 
£6.99
 
Five Fall into Adventure: Book 9
(Paperback)
Enid Blyton
 
 
£6.99
 
Latest Blog
Foyles' Find Your Way Through ... Depression
24/04/2017

How the tv series 13 Reasons Why and Prince Harry's revelations about his own mental health have both sparked important debates about teen wellbeing.

Meg Howrey on the Impossibility of Avoiding Science in Fiction
24/04/2017

As her new book, The Wanderers, is published, exclusively for Foyles, Meg Howrey discusses why all writers of contemporary fiction are going to have to deal with science, and the interesting things that happen between and beyond the categories.

Sara Paretsky Recalls a Childhood as the 'Town Giraffe' in Lawrence, Kansas
20/04/2017

As her new V I Warshawski novel, Fallout, is published, Sara Paretsky recalls her childhood in Lawrence, Kansas and how the town has provided the inspiration and setting for several of her novels, including Fallout.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd