Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Queen of Attolia

The Queen of Attolia (Paperback)

£5.99
Unavailable. Replaced by new version by new supplier.
Unavailable

Synopsis

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia's palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award.

Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief. A Booklist Top 10 Fantasy Books for Youth ALA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age Parent's Choice Gold Award A Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Blue Ribbon Book "The Queen's Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner's books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come."-Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail-you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."

-Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows "Megan Whalen Turner proves to be one of the brightest creative talents. With each book, she continues to add new levels and new luster to her sparkling imagination."-Lloyd Alexander, Newbery Medalist and National Book Award-winning author of The Chronicles of Prydain "Readers will be spellbound."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Turner's storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her-and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next."-Publishers Weekly (starred review) "[An] intense read ...thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts."-The Horn Book (starred review)

Children'sFiction & true storiesAdventure storiesThrillersChildren'sFiction & true storiesFantasy & magical realismChildren'sFiction & true storiesGeneral fiction Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc Publication Date: 24/01/2006 ISBN-13: 9780060841829  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Unavailable. Replaced by new version by new supplier.  

Megan Whalen Turner is the bestselling and award-winning author of four novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief. She has been awarded a Newbery Honor and a Horn Book-Boston Globe Honor and won the LA Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature. She has won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature and was a finalist for the Andre Norton Award. She worked as a bookseller for seven years before she started writing. Her first book was a collection of short stories called Instead of Three Wishes. She lives in Shaker Heights, Ohio. www.meganwhalenturner.org http://meganwhalenturner.tumblr.com/

More books by Megan Whalen Turner

Customer Reviews

Short and Sweet: The Queen of Attolia was a huge step up from the first book in this series, The Thief, in terms of the storyline, politics, writing and especially Gen, our main character. Let’s go more into detail: Like I said in my review of book one, I couldn’t help but feel that The Thief was more prequel novella than anything else, mostly because I felt like the ‘Master Thief’ that we were promised was just someone with a lot of luck. Also, the book was too nice and not at all filled with backstabbing and cunningness that I would expect from a book told in a Thief’s POV. (Thanks Six of Crows) The Queen of Attolia, like I hoped it would be was SO SO MUCH BETTER. For starters, there was a lot more going on in the book. I adored Gen’s descriptions in this book of his thieving encounters. They felt real, and pumped with adrenaline and actually showed off his skills unlike in book one. I also REALLY LOVED the basic plot of this story. It showed us Gen is a whole different light. He was smart, capable and slightly cocky like in the first book but at the same time, after he gets caught, we see a more human as he wallowed in self-pity. He also made mistakes that he had to work to overcome, find his way back to becoming a capable Queen’s Thief and I really liked seeing him grow as a character. Another thing I loved about the book was how we got to know the Queen of Attolia a lot more. We met her for a brief scene in the first book and here we also got to know her better – her motivations, the numerous pressures on her and how she survives as a woman in a man’s world. I also loved the REALLY WELL DONE politics in this world, and all the war (battle) strategy. It is, after all, a book that encompasses the political nature of three countries – Eddis, Sounis and Attolia – and it took on that all important feeling that I expected from it. As I said in my short and sweet, I liked this book a WHOLE lot better than book one, but I still didn’t fall in love and flail about it! Hopefully I will in book three, though. 4 stars.

- 12/05/2017
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for ALL orders. No charge for each additional book. 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The King of Attolia
(Paperback)
Megan Whalen Turner
 
 
£4.99
 

Currently out of stock

A Conspiracy of Kings
(Paperback)
Megan Whalen Turner
 
 
£5.99
 

Currently out of stock

Breaking Silence
(Paperback)
Karen Langtree
 
 
£7.99
 
The Edge of the Light: Book 4 of The...
(Paperback)
Elizabeth George
 
 
£7.99
 
Latest Blog
Read an Extract from A Skinful of Shadows
21/09/2017

Read an extract from the eagerly awaited new novel by the Costa-winning Frances Hardinge, A Skinful of Shadows.

#FoylesFive: Elsewhere-Elsewhen
18/09/2017

Jen from the Web Team shares a selection of books that will transport the reader to another time and place.

Growler: The Inspiration for the Now Iconic Bear
18/09/2017

James Campbell describes how the groundbreaking approach to illustration adopted by Milne and Shepard came about, which bear provided the inspiration for the drawings and which of the characters was Shepard's secret favourite.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd