Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
A Naked Singularity: A Novel

A Naked Singularity: A Novel (Paperback)

£13.50
Usually despatched within 2 weeks.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

The University of Chicago Press doesn't generally publish new American fiction. But last winter we started hearing from people we trusted about a stunning debut novel that no trade house had been willing to take a chance on-to the point that the author had given up and self-published it. We got a copy, and we were blown away. It's not hard to see why publishers would be scared off by this book: it's a 700-page first novel by a nobody with no connections. But what's a university press for if not to publish books we believe in that don't necessarily fit into the hit machine? And we believe in this book: it's an epoch-defining kind of novel, and the announcement of a once-in-a-generation kind of talent. "A Naked Singularity" is about Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender - one who, tellingly, has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack - and how his world then slowly devolves.

It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If "Infinite Jest" stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew its trajectory from there, "A Naked Singularity" does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis' "A Frolic of His Own", a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." "A Naked Singularity" reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

Essays & WritingLiterary CriticismFiction & PoetryFiction in translationFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryShort stories Publisher: The University of Chicago Press Publication Date: 11/05/2012 ISBN-13: 9780226141794  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 weeks. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Sergio De La Pava is a writer who does not live in Brooklyn.

More books by Sergio de la Pava

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Reading Charles Dickens: Bleak House
(Paperback)
Richard Gravil
 
 
£6.95
 
Censorship of Literature in...
(Hardback)
Alireza Abiz
 
 
£72.00
 
The Postcolonial Contemporary:...
(Hardback)
Jini Kim Watson; Gary Wilder; Sadia...
 
£88.00
£92.00
 
Deconstructing the Death Penalty:...
(Hardback)
Kelly Oliver; Stephanie Straub; Katie...
 
£96.00
£100.00
 
Latest Blog
Read an extract from Everything I Know About Love
20/04/2018

Dolly Alderton's Everything I Know About Love is an honest, funny and uplifting account of growing up and being enough.

An extract from The Fire This Time
18/04/2018

Edited by National Book Award-winning author Jesmyn Ward, The Fire This Time is a collection of essays and poems exploring black experience in modern-day America, in a response to James Baldwin's groundbreaking 1963 essay collection The Fire Next Time.

Swither, Shoogle, Wheesht - Kirsty Logan on the language of The Gloaming
17/04/2018

Kirsty Logan's second novel, The Gloaming, is a swirling tale threaded through with magic, heartbreak, love and mermaids. It is studded with evocative but perhaps unfamiliar words, adding atmosphere, mood and expression. Exclusively for Foyles, she has written about some of these Scottish words, that head up each chapter of the book.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd