Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Madison Jones' Garden of Innocence
Foyalty 70

Madison Jones' Garden of Innocence (Paperback)

Usually despatched in 10+ days.


Madison Jones is the author of eleven novels, among them are The Innocent, An Exile (film: I Walk the Line), A Cry of Absence, Season of the Strangle, and Nashville 1864: The Dying of the Light winner of the T.S. Eliot Award for Creative Writing. His novel Herod's Wife appeared in 2003. Madison Jones is a central figure in American literature, but paradoxically not well-known. He writes about conflicts between the native and the alien, tradition and progress, and innocence and experience. Like his fellow-novelists George Garrett and David Madden, who have contributed to this volume, Jones shares the regret at the loss of inherited values. He has been praised by the critics Ashley Brown, Monroe Spears, and Lewis P. Simpson, as an important transitional writer. And according to contemporary writers Madison Smartt Bell, William Hoffman, and Lee Smith, his novels are lessons in the possibility of the immediate. As the essays in this collection show, Madison Jones has a dark view of human experience, but also self-knowledge and compassion. He has succeeded in finding his own voice and has created an emphatically moral world that transcends its Southern particulars.

Essays by Jewel Spears Brooker, George Garrett, Richard Gray, Jan Nordby Gretlund, Madison Jones, Lewis A. Lawson, David Madden, and Hans H. Skei. Plus interviews and a Madison Jones bibliography.

Essays & WritingLiterary CriticismLiterary studies: generalLiterary studies: from c 1900 - Publisher: University Press of Southern Denmark Publication Date: 01/01/2005 ISBN-13: 9788776740016  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched in 10+ days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Jan Nordby Gretlund is a lecturer in American Literature at the Center for American Studies, University of Southern Denmark.

More books by Jan Nordby Gretlund

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Nano Nagle: Her Life and ...
Deirdre Raftery
Fiction in the Age of Risk
Tony Hughes-D'Aeth; Golnar Nabizadeh
Joyce's Allmaziful Plurabilities:...
Kimberly J. Devlin; Christine Smedley
Time and Tide: The Feminist and...
Catherine Clay
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close