Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Shark
Foyalty 58

Shark (Hardback)

£18.99
Unavailable. This title is Out of Print.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

Shark by Will Self - a thrilling new novel based on incredible real events, from the Booker-shortlisted author of Umbrella Shark turns upon an actual incident in the Second World War when the ship which had delivered the fissile material to the south Pacific to be dropped on Hiroshima was subsequently sunk by a Japanese submarine with the loss of 900 men, including 200 killed in the largest shark attack ever recorded. When Creep, an American resident in the 1970s at the therapeutic community in north London supervised by psychiatrist Zack Busner, starts to tell rambling stories of thrashing about in the water while under attack from sharks, Busner has to decide whether they are schizoid delusions or reflect some sort of reality. And things get complicated when Creep's father flies in to remove his son from what he regards as a perverse commune. Shark is a must-read for anyone who enjoyed The Book of Dave and Umbrella, and will appeal to readers of Irvine Welsh's Skagboys, David Mitchell's Cloud Atlas and Huruki Murakami's IQ84. Will Self is the author of many novels and books of non-fiction, including Great Apes, The Book of Dave, How the Dead Live, which was shortlisted for the Whitbread Novel of the Year 2002, The Butt, winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction 2008, and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2012. He lives in South London.

Essays & WritingEssays & JournalismFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 04/09/2014 ISBN-13: 9780670918577  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Unavailable. This title is Out of Print.  

Will Self is the author of many novels and books of non-fiction, including Great Apes, The Book of Dave, How the Dead Live, which was shortlisted for the Whitbread Novel of the Year 2002, The Butt, winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction 2008, and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2012. He lives in South London.

More books by Will Self

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Circadian
(Paperback)
Chelsey Clammer
 
 
£7.99
 
Two-Countries
(Paperback)
Tina Schumann
 
 
£13.99
 
Miraculum Monstrum
(Paperback)
Kathline Carr
 
 
£15.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd