Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Ruins

The Ruins (Hardback)

£24.99
Printed to order. Despatched in 2-3 weeks.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

Set among the spinning cogs and wheels of a lavish dinner club for the "gastronomical Elect," The Ruins is a black-eyed, Machiavellian fairy tale for adults, a gleeful cautionary discourse on ambition and ingratitude, and the penalties for disbelief in those forces within oneself.

Like all fairy tales, it turns on subjection-the increasingly comic and catastrophic subjection of "our hero, Tom," a high-minded and half-starved shoeshine boy. Tom shifts for himself in a dank and vaguely apocalyptic city where "the days come and go in a flat, lurid tide, noon and midnight like sullen twins, so indifferently does light distinguish itself from darkness."

Easily enticed from the artless squalor of his past into the dazzling and treacherous table politics of TheRuins, our hero soon finds himself at escalating odds with the diabolical proprietor, Jones, "an extravagant if charismatic crackpot." Tom's ill-fated efforts to reform The Ruins-finally and improbably rewarded at the glittering Fool's Ball-lead him on a devastating rise and illustrious tumble to humility, humanity, and practical grace.

In the tradition of Thomas Pynchon and Kurt Vonnegut, Trace Farrell delivers this highly original first novel with the arch rhetoric and insinuating charm of a seasoned carnival barker. Slyly drawing the eye to a world teeming with life, after all, no more horrid than gorgeous, The Ruins marks the arrival of a major new literary talent.

Trace Farrell was born and currently lives and works in Seattle, Washington.

More books by Trace Farrell

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Scents and Sensibility: Perfume in...
(Hardback)
Catherine Maxwell
 
 
£30.00
 
The Nigger of the 'Narcissus': A Tale...
(Hardback)
Joseph Conrad; Allan Simmons
 
 
£79.99
 

Currently out of stock

An Underground History of Early...
(Hardback)
Gregory Vargo
 
 
£75.00
 

Currently out of stock

Ghalib: Innovative Meanings and the...
(Hardback)
Gopi Chand Narang; Surinder Deol
 
 
£45.99
 
Latest Blog
Why Little Women is the Perfect Christmas Read
15/12/2017

Publisher of the Macmillan Collectors Library, Harriet Sanders, celebrates the arrival on tv this Christmas of Little Women

#FoylesFive: Foreign Languages Part Two
13/12/2017

Our knowledgeable Languages Department have put together a great selection of books, to help share the magic of reading in every language. Here are their Dutch, Russian and Polish selections.

#FoylesFive: The Last Jedi
12/12/2017

As Star Wars: The Last Jedi drops out of hyperspace and into a cinema near you, Matt from our Web Team gives us his selection of the best Last Jedi books.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd