Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
A Robot In The Garden

A Robot In The Garden (Paperback)

£7.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£7.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£7.99
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

'A MOST UNUSUAL AND DELIGHTFUL BOOK. DEBORAH INSTALL HAS CREATED A ROBOT TO REMEMBER' - Alexander McCall Smith





Funny, touching, charming, wise and a bit magical, this is a novel that explores what it is to be a man, a sentient being and even a parent. A gem of a first novel, especially for anyone who has ever found it difficult to connect with the world.



For fans of Nick Hornby's ABOUT A BOY, and WALL-E.



Ben Chambers wakes up to find an unfamiliar object - rusty and lost - sitting underneath the willow tree in his garden. Refusing to throw it on the skip as his wife Amy advises, he takes it home.





Ben does not want children, or even a job, and now he has found yet another reason to stay in his study and ignore everyone around him.





It is only when Amy walks out that Ben realises he has now alienated all the human beings in his life. He has only one friend left.





This is the story of an unlikely friendship, and how one man opens his heart to a past he did not want, and a future he cannot lose.

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd Publication Date: 25/02/2016 ISBN-13: 9781784160524  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Deborah Install has worked as a website copywriter. Her debut novel, A ROBOT IN THE GARDEN, is inspired by her own young son. She lives in Birmingham with her family where she bakes good cakes and writes even better books.

More books by Deborah Install

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Prime Meridian
(Paperback)
Silvia Moreno-Garcia
 
 
£6.00
 

Currently out of stock

The Amendment
(Paperback)
Anne Leigh Parrish
 
 
£16.00
 

Currently out of stock

Fortune Box
(Paperback)
Madeleine Swann
 
 
£7.00
 

Currently out of stock

The Corn Husk Experiment
(Paperback)
Andrea Cale
 
 
£10.95
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
The Mexican--US Border: Where the Imagination Flourishes…
19/01/2018

Tim Baker reflects on the literary impact of the Mexican-US border and lists some of his favourite novels set in this notorious region.

Johann Hari Takes Issue with the Concept of Self-Help
18/01/2018

Johann Hari explains why, in order to feel better, we must stop being 'you', in favour of being 'us', being 'we', becoming part of the group.

Jealousy, Rivalry, Insecurity, Frustration... Non Pratt Explores the World of Female Teenage Friendships
16/01/2018

Non explores friendship in YA novels and especially those that depict the imperfect middle ground.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd