Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Anxious Pleasures: A Novel after Kafka

Anxious Pleasures: A Novel after Kafka (Paperback)

£11.99
Currently unavailable to order online.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

Anxious Pleasures takes Franz Kafka's profoundly haunting and sad comic novella, The Metamorphosis, and reanimates it through the vantage points of those who surrounded Gregor Samsa during his plight. All the familiar characters are here, including the hysterical mother, stern father, faithless sister, and the pragmatic household cook. But we are also introduced to, among others, the would-be author downstairs who daydreams of the narrative he may someday compose and a young woman in contemporary London reading Kafka's slim book for the first time.Or do they all comprise a few of the disturbing dreams from which Gregor is about to snap awake one morning to find himself transformed into a monstrous vermin? In the tradition of Michael Cunningham's The Hours and John Gardner's Grendel, Olsen's novel not only represents a collaboration with a ghost, but, too, a celebration, augmentation, complication, and devoted unwriting of a momentously influential text.

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US Publication Date: 01/02/2007 ISBN-13: 9781593761356  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable to order online.  

More books by Lance Olsen

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Song of the Tree Frogs
(Paperback)
J W Kitson
 
 
£11.95
 

Currently out of stock

The Take: No Bank Is Safe
(Paperback)
L. Brown
 
 
£17.99
 

Currently out of stock

Weddings by the Glass
(Paperback)
Marc Rubenstein
 
 
£11.95
 

Currently out of stock

Anarchy in the U.K.
(Paperback)
Mick O'Shea
 
 
£14.99
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
#FoylesFive: Swap Snowflakes for Stardust
17/11/2017

Swap snowflakes for stardust this Christmas with some recommends that are out of this world, from Jamie-Lee from our Birmingham branch.

Read an extract of The Book of the Year
15/11/2017

Behold The Book of the Year, by the “No Such Thing As A Fish” podcasters a.k.a the QI Elves. The book is a surreal, silly and wonderful compendium of irreverent and topical facts that show 2017 in a unique light.

Japan: the Perfect Setting for a Crime Novel
14/11/2017

Nicolas explains why Japan is the perfect backdrop to a crime novel.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd