Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Capital
Foyalty 23
Capital (Paperback)
Order now for Free delivery in the UK for orders over £10 or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days. More on delivery...
Order Options List Price Online Price Save Availability Login for Quick Checkout
Delivery:

To home, business or free to our stores. Click for more info.

£7.99 £5.99 25%

Despatched in 2 business days.

Add to Basket
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 5pm today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

£7.99 £7.19 10%

In stock in 1 or more stores

Buy - Select Store
New & Used:

Our marketplace sellers will deliver to your chosen address. Click for more info.

From £1.43  

In stock at one or more sellers.

Buy - Select Seller

Product Synopsis

From the bestselling author of Whoops! and The Debt to Pleasure comes a post-financial crisis, state-of-the-nation novel told with compassion, humour and unflinching truth. Featuring a contemporary cast of characters that crosses race, class and religion, Capital is the moving and hugely topical story of one street caught on the brink of the crash. Capital: the City of London. Capital: money, currency, finance. Both are central to the multicultural micro-society living and working on Pepys Road-an ordinary street in the Capital. Formerly working class, the simple houses have seen a wave of gentrification and expensive renovations that have rendered them highly desirable, valuable real estate. Here lives Roger Yount, powerful investment banker daily trading risk against profit on the Foreign Exchange. An annual bonus of a million might seem excessive, but with second homes and nannies to maintain, he's not sure he can get by without it. Elsewhere on Pepys Road is the Muslim Pakistani family living above their convenience store, and a senior widow who entertains visits from her graffiti artist grandson.

Recently arrived is Freddy Kano, teenage football celebrity, recruited from Senegal to join the Premier League, who left a two-room shack to follow his dream. Their stories intertwine with the immigrant workers who service the wealthy residents of the City: Zbigniew, the builder from Warsaw, catering to the super-rich in their interior decoration whims; the nanny who looks after Roger's two small boys while his well-groomed wife indulges her shopaholic tendencies; and traffic warden Quentina, who has exchanged the violence of the police in Zimbabwe for the violence of the enraged upper middle classes. For them all, this city offers the chance of a different kind of life. Each house has its own story and its own secrets, having seen its fair share of first steps and last breaths, and plenty of laughter in between. Today, through each letterbox along this ordinary street drops a card with a simple message: We Want What You Have. Readers who enjoy Dickens and Trollope and such contemporary books as Sebastian Faulks' A Week in December, will not want to miss out on this fast-paced, cosmopolitan social saga that Booklist calls "remarkably vibrant and engrossing".

Fiction & Poetry >> Modern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Faber & Faber Publication Date: 03/01/2013 ISBN-13: 9780571234622  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by John Lanchester

Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location1st BookEach additional bookAverage Delivery Time
UK Second ClassAvailable free for orders over £10* or £2.50Available free for orders over £10* or £1.003-7 Days
UK First Class£4.50£1.001-2 Days
UK Courier£7.00£1.001-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier£17.00£3.002-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail£5.00£1.504-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier£20.00£3.002-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail£7.00£3.004-14 Days
Rest of World Courier£22.50£3.003-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail£8.00£3.007-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

One Man's Bible
One Man's Bible (Paperback)
Xingjian Gao; Gao Xingjian; Mabel Lee
 
Desiring Cairo
Desiring Cairo (Paperback)
Louisa Young
 
About Grace
About Grace (Paperback)
Anthony Doerr
 
Iris and Ruby
Iris and Ruby (Hardback)
Rosie Thomas
 
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
Edit Basket Go to Checkout
Select Currency: $ £
enCounter Culture
Signed Books and Copies
Animators Survival Kit
Latest Blog
GUEST BLOG: Poetry and art - a wartime romance
17/10/2014

Christiana Spens, illustrator and Director of 3:AM Press, looks at the the important relationship between books and the artwork that adorns them.

A book is for life, not just for GCSE
14/10/2014

Charlotte from our Bristol branch on how the books we read at school often resonate with us throughout lives, as well as starting us out on a lifelong journey of literary discovery.

GUEST BLOG: Floats like a lonely cloud, stings like a bee
06/10/2014

Poet Declan Ryan reveals the unlikely overlap between the worlds of boxing and poetry.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Version: 1.0.0.19527