Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Daughter of Siena
Daughter of Siena (Paperback)
£8.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK for orders over £10 or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

The fourth unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir. The Palio: Siena's famously dangerous and hard-fought horse race. A year of planning, ten riders, three circuits of the piazza - and all over in a single moment. But this year, for two of the women watching, far more than the coveted prize is at stake. For Pia of the Tolomei, the most beautiful woman in Siena, the Palio is her last hope of escaping a violent marriage. For Violante de Medici, it marks the start of what her enemies intend to be her last month as governess of the city. Isolated in her palace, surrounded by conspirators, she must find the courage to uncover a plot that threatens her very existence. The trumpets sound. And into the piazza rides an unknown horseman, clad in the colours of the Tower contrada. What he does during the race will not only change the lives of Pia and Violante, but alter the course of the Medici dynasty itself.

Alive with all the colour and rich historical detail that marks Marina Fiorato's work, Daughter of Siena is a dramatic and compelling story of treachery, courage and the power of love.

Fiction & PoetryHistorical Fiction Publisher: John Murray General Publishing Division Publication Date: 23/04/2011 ISBN-13: 9781848545625  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice, where she specialized in the study of Shakespeare's plays as an historical source. After university she studied art and since worked as an illustrator, actress and film reviewer. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. She is the author of five novels: The Glassblower of Murano, The Madonna of the Almonds, The Botticelli Secret, Daughter of Siena and The Venetian Contract. You can follow Marina on Twitter at @MarinaFiorato and find out more about her and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com.

More books by Marina Fiorato

Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location1st BookEach additional bookAverage Delivery Time
UK Second ClassAvailable free for orders over £10* or £2.50Available free for orders over £10* or £1.003-7 Days
UK First Class£4.50£1.001-2 Days
UK Courier£7.00£1.001-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier£17.00£3.002-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail£5.00£1.504-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier£20.00£3.002-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail£7.00£3.004-14 Days
Rest of World Courier£22.50£3.003-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail£8.00£3.007-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Shula and the Goats from Tala
(Paperback)
McCawley Grange
 
 
£9.99
 
The Lady Agnes Mystery: Volume 2
(Paperback)
Andrea Japp
 
 
£9.99
 
Skin
(Hardback)
Ilka Tampke
 
 
£12.99
 
The Rest is Silence: A Billy Boyle...
(Paperback)
James R. Benn
 
 
£7.99
 
Latest Blog
Writing tips from a bestselling author
23/07/2015

Bestelling author Jane Green, whose latest novel Summer Secrets, has just been published, shares her top five writing tips for would-be authors.

Sweet dreams are made of...
17/07/2015

Star baker Kate Doran has been recreating childhood favourites with a twist on The Little Loaf blog since 2011. You can now learn to create homemade treats such as homemade Jaffa cakes, marshmallows and 100 more nostalgic treats with her new book, Homemade Memories. Here she shares one of her favourites, Cinnamon Breadcrumb Ice Cream.

Living on the edge
14/07/2015

Malachy Tallack, author of 60 Degrees North, explains what drew him to travel through the world's remotest frozen wildernesses and isolated communities, as well as sharing his five favourite travel books.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd