Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Jakob's Colours

Jakob's Colours (Paperback)

£8.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£8.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y. He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone. 'Don't be afraid, Jakob,' his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. 'See the colours, my boy,' he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs.

Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour.

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division Publication Date: 28/01/2016 ISBN-13: 9781444797664  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days.

Lindsay Hawdon is a writer of travel, adventure and fiction. On leaving school, she spent three years travelling around Europe, Africa and India, hitching rides and sleeping under canvas. She has since travelled to over sixty countries and writes regularly for The Sunday Times, The Sunday Telegraph, the Australian and the LA Times. Her travel column 'An Englishwoman Abroad' ran in the Sunday Telegraph in 2000 and ran for seven years. Her articles for the Sunday Times called 'Have Kids Will Travel' followed a year's trip travelling solo with her two young boys around South East Asia. She lives in Bath with her family.

See our Author Page for Lindsay Hawdon

More books by Lindsay Hawdon

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Second Class Available free for ALL orders. No charge for each additional book. 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Crows of Beara
(Paperback)
Julie Christine Johnson
 
 
£14.00
 

Currently out of stock

More Than You Think You Know
(Paperback)
Cyndi Perkins
 
 
£16.99
 

Currently out of stock

The Professor and the Suicide Girl
(Hardback)
Nick Totem
 
 
£21.99
 

Currently out of stock

The Tryst
(Paperback)
Monique Roffey
 
 
£8.99
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
The Lost City of Z and other Explorers' Tales
23/03/2017

As the film is released of The Lost City of Z, we take a look at other Explorers' Tales. Plus, see some footage from the film intercut with readings by Charlie Hunnam from The Lost City of Z.

Sally Emerson Relives Her Life
21/03/2017

Are the novels Fire Child and Heat still shocking? They certainly are, says their author Sally Emerson, six of whose novels are being republished this year.

How Eating Well can lead to Living Better
20/03/2017

Myles Hopper describes how and why the pair became preoccupied with healthy eating.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd