Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Jakob's Colours

Jakob's Colours (Hardback)

£14.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. 'Remarkable - brave, big-hearted and beautifully written' Andrew Miller, author of the Costa Award winner PURE.  Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y. He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone. 'Don't be afraid, Jakob,' his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. 'See the colours, my boy,' he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs. Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour.



Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division Publication Date: 09/04/2015 ISBN-13: 9781444797671  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Lindsay Hawdon is a writer of travel, adventure and fiction. On leaving school, she spent three years travelling around Europe, Africa and India, hitching rides and sleeping under canvas. She has since travelled to over sixty countries and writes regularly for The Sunday Times, The Sunday Telegraph, the Australian and the LA Times. Her travel column 'An Englishwoman Abroad' ran in the Sunday Telegraph in 2000 and ran for seven years. Her articles for the Sunday Times called 'Have Kids Will Travel' followed a year's trip travelling solo with her two young boys around South East Asia. She lives in Bath with her family.

See our Author Page for Lindsay Hawdon

More books by Lindsay Hawdon

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Cynlais
(Paperback)
Manon Steffan Ros
 
 
£8.99
 
Dolores Huerta Stands Strong: The...
(Paperback)
Marlene Targ Brill
 
£10.99
£11.99
 
Esther Bligh
(Paperback)
Diana Powell
 
 
£7.99
 
Rubik
(Paperback)
Elizabeth Tan
 
 
£10.00
 
Latest Blog
Read an extract from Olivia Sudjic's Sympathy
26/04/2018

Olivia Sudjic's debut novel Sympathy has been called the first great Instagram novel. Read an extract from this story of obsession and identity.

#FoylesFive: Portugese Foyles Five
25/04/2018

With the anniversary of the Carnation Revolution upon us, Gary from our Fiction department shares a few tips for getting to know Portugal better...

Max Porter on the Portobello Prize
24/04/2018

What makes great non-fiction? And how do you tell a true story? To celebrate the inaugural Portobello Prize for Narrative Non-Fiction, on 1st May 2018 we're hosting an evening with Portobello Books — a panel discussion on the nature of non-fiction writing in today's literary landscape, followed by the announcement of the first ever winner of the Prize.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd