Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Jalan Jalan: A Novel of Indonesia

Jalan Jalan: A Novel of Indonesia (Paperback)

£11.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

Set on the lush tropical island of Sumatra, Jalan Jalan is the story of one man's attempt to escape from himself and the memory of his dead girlfriend. On the first page our narrator arrives in Indonesia, having taken a job in a ragtag language school where his fellow teachers are all misfits seemingly on the run from the realities of life in their home countries. "What sort of idiot takes a job after a five minute phone interview, in a country he knows nothing much about and on the other side of the world, in a school he's never heard of? Me idiot. That's who!" says the disaffected Newbie--a nickname given to him by his colleagues. This story of a quest for salvation in an exotic foreign land will appeal to fans of Alex Garland's The Beach, Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love and Malcolm Lowry's Under the Volcano. The title of the book comes from the Indonesian phrase jalan jalan ("walk walk") which one of the characters describes as: "Just fu$&ing walking man. Out for a stroll." To Newbie, whose real name is never revealed until the book's final page, the phrase aptly sums up the emotional detachment he seeks. Yet despite himself, he cannot help being transformed by his new experiences. "Raw, confrontational and aimed directly at anyone who has decided to take a hike from life, hide out for a while and reinvent who you are in another culture, it lays bare the vulnerability of the human psyche...Not for the fainthearted, this will take you on a journey which will be hard to forget, will hit deep and will, providing you enjoy this hard hitting style of writing, keep you entertained to the last page as you struggle, with Newbie, to discover just what life is really all about." -Blue Wolf Reviews

"Our adventurer is amusing as he struggles with everything. Simply staying clean poses a challenge for him in a land where `flat feet plop across the dusty shed skin of people unknown, limbs of dead insects, and dirt walked in by rodents'. A light and uplifting read." -Otago Daily Times

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Travel & MapsTravel writing Publisher: Tuttle Publishing Publication Date: 01/01/2016 ISBN-13: 9780804846295  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Mike Stoner lives in the UK, but has spent time in Asia and Eastern Europe. He graduated with distinction from the University of Kent with a MA in Creative Writing. He loves writing and intends to do an awful lot more before he keels over. He is married with two kids and currently lives in the United Kingdom.

More books by Mike Stoner

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Babushka's Journey: The Dark Road to...
(Hardback)
Marcel Krueger
 
 
£18.99
 
Build A Fire
(Paperback)
 
 
£10.00
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
#FoylesFive: Book Friday
24/11/2017

Today's the day known as Black Friday, or Book Friday as we like to call it! To celebrate we wanted to give you money off our favourite books!

#FoylesFive: Buddhism & Meditation
23/11/2017

Stressed? Carmelo from our Charing Cross Road flagship shop has just the thing.

The Satisfaction of a Good Puzzle
21/11/2017

Alex Bellos extols the virtues of the puzzle, especially those from the great puzzle masters of Japan, and selects some of his favourite puzzle books.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd