Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Murder in Byzantium: A Novel

Murder in Byzantium: A Novel (Hardback)

£62.00
Usually despatched within 2 weeks.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

In this absorbing, suspenseful novel Julia Kristeva combines social satire, medieval history, philosophy, psychoanalytic theory, and autobiography within a gruesome murder mystery. Murder in Byzantium deftly moves from eleventh-century Europe, wracked by the turbulence of the First Crusade, to the sun-dappled, cultural wasteland of present-day Santa Varvara, threatened by religious cults, gangs, and a serial killer on the loose. This killer is murdering members of a dubious religious sect, the New Pantheon, and leaving a mysterious figure eight drawn on their corpses. Meanwhile, Sebastian Chrest-Jones, a noted professor of human migrations, clandestinely writing a novel about the Byzantine princess-historian Anna Comnena, disappears on a quest to learn more about an ancestor who roamed across Europe to Byzantium during the First Crusade. Kristeva's recurring characters, detective Northrop Rilsky and the French journalist Stephanie Delacour, step in and desperately try to piece together the two-part mystery in the midst of their unexpected love affair.

In the tradition of Umberto Eco, Susan Sontag, and Ian McEwan, Kristeva skillfully weaves philosophical and critical ideas into her fiction. Peering into the mores, obsessions, and excesses of contemporary society, Kristeva offers an engrossing portrait of Santa Varvara, a paradoxical place of sunshine and pollution where skeletons lurk in the closets of politicians and oil company executives. Her descriptions of the First Crusade and the Byzantine Empire vividly evoke a distant past while speaking to such contemporary concerns as immigration, fundamentalism, terrorism, and the East-West divide. Murder in Byzantium is also the only work in which Kristeva explores her Bulgarian roots. In the midst of this rich, multilayered historical novel, Kristeva also presents three stunning, closely observed, and interlocking portraits of characters struggling with loss and emptiness in their personal histories and day-to-day lives.

Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersClassic crimeFiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersHistorical mysteries Publisher: Columbia University Press Publication Date: 06/01/2006 ISBN-13: 9780231136365  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 weeks. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Julia Kristeva is a renowned psychoanalyst, critic, and professor of linguistics at the Universite de Paris VII. She is the author of many acclaimed works and novels, including The Samurai, The Old Man and the Wolves, and Possessions, and is the recipient of the Hannah Arendt Prize for Political Thought and the Holberg International Memorial Prize.C. Jon Delogu is professor of English at the Universite de Lyon III-Jean Moulin.

More books by Julia Kristeva

More books by C. Jon Delogu

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Ar Drywydd Llofrudd
(Paperback)
Alun Davies
 
 
£8.99
 
Pecyn Nofelau Ditectif
(Paperback)
Gareth W. Williams
 
 
£23.00
 
The Moonstone
(Hardback)
Wilkie Collins; Judith Flanders
 
 
£9.99
 
Digon i'r Diwrnod
(Paperback)
Geraint Evans
 
 
£7.99
 
Latest Blog
#FoylesFive: Portugese Foyles Five
25/04/2018

With the anniversary of the Carnation Revolution upon us, Gary from our Fiction department shares a few tips for getting to know Portugal better...

Max Porter on the Portobello Prize
24/04/2018

What makes great non-fiction? And how do you tell a true story? To celebrate the inaugural Portobello Prize for Narrative Non-Fiction, on 1st May 2018 we're hosting an evening with Portobello Books — a panel discussion on the nature of non-fiction writing in today's literary landscape, followed by the announcement of the first ever winner of the Prize.

Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlist
23/04/2018

This year's shortlist for the Women's Prize for Fiction has been announced

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd