Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir (Hardback)

£12.99
£9.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£12.99
£9.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

Read an exclusive interview with the author





A warm, funny and big-hearted novel of wartime gumption and village spirit which will make your heart sing out, and is perfect for fans of Helen Simonson's The Summer before the War and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Kent, 1940. The women of Chilbury village have taken umbrage at the Vicar's closure of the choir now that its male singers are at war. But when spirited music professor Primrose Trent arrives, it prompts the creation of an all-female singing group. Resurrecting themselves as The Chilbury Ladies' Choir, the women use their song and unity to embolden the community as the war tears through their lives. Dependable Mrs Tilling sees the choir as a chance to finally put herself first, and a welcome distraction from thoughts of her son fighting on the front line. For Kitty Winthrop, the precocious youngest daughter of Chilbury Manor, singing is the only way to outshine her glamorous sister Venetia, who isn't letting the war ruin her plan to make every bachelor in the county fall in love with her. Meanwhile, when midwife Edwina Paltry is presented with a dastardly job which she's convinced will make her rich, she will have to misuse more than the trust of the choir's women to carry out her scheme - and nothing is going to stop her. Filled with intrigue, humour and touching warmth, and set against the devastating backdrop of the Second World War, this is a lively and big-hearted novel told through the voices of four very different but equally vibrant characters, who will win you over as much with their mischief as with their charm.



Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 23/02/2017 ISBN-13: 9780008163709  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Jennifer Ryan grew up in Kent and now lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband and two children. She was previously a nonfiction book editor. The Chilbury Ladies' Choir is her first novel.

See our Author Page for Jennifer Ryan

More books by Jennifer Ryan

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

G.I. JOE: A Real American Hero, Vol. 19
(Paperback)
Larry Hama; S. L. Gallant
 
 
£15.99
 
The Wicked Cometh
(Paperback)
Laura Carlin
 
 
£12.99
 
The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods...
(Paperback)
Kevin Crossley-Holland
 
 
£12.99
 
Scourge of Wolves
(Paperback)
David Gilman
 
 
£14.99
 
Latest Blog
Johann Hari Takes Issue with the Concept of Self-Help
18/01/2018

Johann Hari explains why, in order to feel better, we must stop being 'you', in favour of being 'us', being 'we', becoming part of the group.

Jealousy, Rivalry, Insecurity, Frustration... Non Pratt Explores the World of Female Teenage Friendships
16/01/2018

Non explores friendship in YA novels and especially those that depict the imperfect middle ground.

#FoylesFive: Pre-orders
15/01/2018

Matt from our Web Team jumps into the future and brings back some reading recommends for 2018.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd