Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Girl in the Photograph
Foyalty 21
The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)
Order now for Free delivery in the UK for orders over £10 or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days. More on delivery...
Order Options
List Price
Online Price
Save
Availability
Delivery:

To home, business or free to our stores. Click for more info.

List Price: £6.99
Online Price: £5.31
Save: 24%
Pre-order. Despatched on publication 15/01/2015
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

List Price: £6.99
Online Price: £6.99
Save:  
Not yet available
 

Product Synopsis

For fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Morton comes a haunting novel about two women separated by decades but entwined by fate. When Alice Eveleigh arrives at Fiercombe Manor during the long, languid summer of 1933, she finds a house steeped in mystery and brimming with secrets. Sadness permeates its empty rooms and the isolated valley seems crowded with ghosts, none more alluring than Elizabeth Stanton whose only traces remain in a few tantalisingly blurred photographs. Why will no one speak of her? What happened a generation ago to make her vanish? As the sun beats down relentlessly, Alice becomes ever more determined to unearth the truth about the girl in the photograph - and stop her own life from becoming an eerie echo of Elizabeth's ...Lifelong fans of Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca will adore Kate Riordan's exquisite novel, The Girl in the Photograph. Kate Riordan is a writer and journalist. She started out as an editorial assistant at the Guardian, followed by a stint as deputy editor for the lifestyle section of Time Out. She now works freelance and lives in the Cotswolds, where she is currently working on her next novel.

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 15/01/2015 ISBN-13: 9781405917421  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order. Despatched on publication 15/01/2015 Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by Kate Riordan

Customer Reviews

A story of a girl sent away to have a baby in disgrace almost mirroring events of the past as Alice discovers, an enthralling book about a forbidding house set in a valley of secrets, some of which Alice sets about unfolding during her time at Fiercombe Manor. The book switches between Elizabeth in the past and Alice in the present both trying to make the best of a difficult situation. a really gripping story which will be a best seller for sure

- 29/11/2014
Report this Review

I was asked to review this book by Real Readers. I was intrigued to read this book as the author lives in Cheltenham and I live in Gloucestershire so parallels from the start. I was surprised by some of the reviews I did think this book had essences of Kate Morton who writes in the same vein. This was a haunting story set in the 1930s in Gloucestershire. The protagonist Alice is sent to the countryside in disgrace and is under the care of a housekeeper. It gets eerie as Alice thinks she is being watched and things just do not add up. There are secrets hidden in this house and glimpses of a former lady of the manor Elizabeth Stanton and the parallels of these two women. Haunting and full of twists this is a beautifully written novel. Due for publication in January 2015, this will be there in the top ten for the summer and will be a great beach read. I will be looking out for this author.

- 19/11/2014
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location1st BookEach additional bookAverage Delivery Time
UK Second ClassAvailable free for orders over £10* or £2.50Available free for orders over £10* or £1.003-7 Days
UK First Class£4.50£1.001-2 Days
UK Courier£7.00£1.001-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier£17.00£3.002-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail£5.00£1.504-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier£20.00£3.002-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail£7.00£3.004-14 Days
Rest of World Courier£22.50£3.003-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail£8.00£3.007-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

About Grace
(Paperback)
Anthony Doerr
 
£11.99
£8.75
27%
Angel
(Paperback)
Colleen McCullough
 
£7.99
£5.83
27%
The Loner
(Paperback)
Josephine Cox
 
£6.99
£5.24
25%
The Ghost
(Paperback)
Robert Harris
 
£12.99
£9.48
27%
Latest Blog
The best fiction of 2014
15/12/2014

Many at Foyles feel that 2014 been a very good year for fiction and our customers seem to agree, with big leaps in sales in all our branches. Our web editor, Jonathan Ruppin, looks at why this might be, selects his top titles and explains why Dutch novelist Peter Buwalda's Bonita Avenue is his book of the year.

Making failure into an art
09/12/2014

You've probably heard of the writer Franz Kafka; but what about Hans Kafka? No? Well, there's a reason for that...

The noir prophet returns
01/12/2014

George Hamilton-Jones, from our Charing Cross Road shop, celebrates the return of William Gibson with The Peripheral, which should delight fans of his early futuristic works, such as Neuromancer.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd