Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The House at Bishopsgate
Foyalty 51

The House at Bishopsgate (Hardback)

£16.99
Despatched in 2 business days.

Synopsis

From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Elif Shafak



1611. Celia Lamprey looks out across the rooftops of Aleppo for the last time. After ten years living in the Orient, she and her husband, Paul Pindar, are setting sail for England - taking with them the legendary diamond, the Sultan's Blue, despite the curse that surrounds it.



They arrive to find a country much changed; Bishopsgate, once surrounded by fields, is now a muddy thoroughfare choked with carriages - from which carpenters, gardeners and footmen descend, summoned to restore Pindar's great house to its former splendour. But all is not as it seems. Celia is frail, and the marriage childless. Between the couple lies a great, unspoken darkness. Now, as they await the arrival of Celia's friend Annetta from Venice, another woman, the alluring widow Frances Sydenham, becomes increasingly indispensable to the running of the household - and the happiness of its inhabitants.



But who is this strange woman, and what are her real motives?



Vividly evoking Jacobean society, The House at Bishopsgate is a sumptuous, richly woven story of marital secrets and sexual jealousy, from a master of historical fiction.

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomance Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC Publication Date: 09/02/2017 ISBN-13: 9781408821145  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Katie Hickman is the author of seven previous books, including two bestselling history titles: Courtesans and Daughters of Britannia. She has written two travel books, one of which, Travels with a Mexican Circus, was shortlisted for the Thomas Cook Travel Book Award. She was shortlisted for the Sunday Times Young British Writer of the Year Award for her novel The Quetzal Summer, and her novels The Aviary Gate and The Pindar Diamond have been translated into nineteen languages. Katie Hickman lives in London. katiehickman.com / @PindarDiamond

More books by Katie Hickman

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Deer and the Cauldron: 3-volume set
(Books & other media combined)
Louis Cha (Jin Yong)
 
 
£45.00
 
Open Sea
(Paperback)
Maria Gudin; Cynthia Steele
 
£8.99
£9.99
 
A Column of Fire
(Paperback)
Ken Follett
 
 
£8.99
 
Daughter of the Dales
(Hardback)
Diane Allen
 
 
£20.00
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close