Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The New York Trilogy
Foyalty 29
The New York Trilogy (Paperback)
Order now for Free delivery in the UK for orders over £10 or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days. More on delivery...
Order Options
List Price
Online Price
Save
Availability
Delivery:

To home, business or free to our stores. Click for more info.

List Price: £8.99
Online Price: £7.19
Save: 20%
Availibility: Despatched in 2 business days.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 7pm today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

List Price: £8.99
Online Price: £8.99
Save:  
Availibility: In stock in 1 or more stores.

Synopsis

The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. "Marks a new departure for the American novel." (Observer). "A shatteringly clever piece of work...Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind." (Sunday Telegraph). "The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett." (Guardian).

Fiction & PoetryClassic fiction pre 1945Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Faber & Faber Publication Date: 02/06/2011 ISBN-13: 9780571276653  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Paul Auster is the best-selling author of Invisible, Moon Palace, Mr Vertigo, The Brooklyn Follies, The Book of Illusions and The New York Trilogy, among many other works. In 2006 he was awarded the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature and inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Among his other honours are the Independent Spirit Award for the screenplay of Smoke and the Prix Medicis Etranger for Leviathan. He has also been short-listed for both the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award (The Book of Illusions) and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction (The Music of Chance). His work has been translated into more than thirty languages. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

More books by Paul Auster

Customer Reviews

This was a deep disappointment, not because of the hyperbole on the jacket saying how wonderful it was, but because two of the three stories were profoundly dull and implausible and didn’t convey any of the atmosphere of the city. In both of the first two stories there is little action, lots of repetition and in the second especially I found what I was being asked to believe so unlikely I lost any engagement with it at all. The final story of the trilogy was more engaging and interesting but didn’t really redeem the turgidity of the first two. These aren’t really detective stories in my view and if you read them thinking they are going to be on the lines of Chandler you will be disappointed, but even putting that aside I found very little to commend them and the use of colours for the characters names in story two was not clever just self-indulgent. Probably not the best Paul Auster to start with and I’ll try another to see if his novels are an improvement.

- 22/12/2014
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location1st BookEach additional bookAverage Delivery Time
UK Second ClassAvailable free for orders over £10* or £2.50Available free for orders over £10* or £1.003-7 Days
UK First Class£4.50£1.001-2 Days
UK Courier£7.00£1.001-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier£17.00£3.002-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail£5.00£1.504-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier£20.00£3.002-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail£7.00£3.004-14 Days
Rest of World Courier£22.50£3.003-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail£8.00£3.007-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Desiring Cairo
(Paperback)
Louisa Young
 
£7.99
£6.39
20%
About Grace
(Paperback)
Anthony Doerr
 
£11.99
£9.59
20%
Angel
(Paperback)
Colleen McCullough
 
£8.99
£7.19
20%
The Loner
(Paperback)
Josephine Cox
 
£6.99
£5.59
20%
Latest Blog
GUEST BLOG: A rolling Stoner
25/04/2015

Frances Macmillan, Senior Editor at Vintage Classics, looks at how John Williams' Stoner, published 50 years ago, was rescued from obscurity and eventually became acknowledged as a 20th-century classic.

GUEST BLOG: The great book giveaway
23/04/2015

Elizabeth Fremantle, whose novel Queen's Gambit is on of the 20 being given away all over Britain today by volunteers for World Book Night, reveals how she first got involved as a volunteer.

GUEST BLOG: The secret history of the conspiracy theory
21/04/2015

Tim Clare - whose novel The Honours sees a teenge girl convinced her parents are under the malign influence of a secret society - looks at how conspiracy theories spread long before mass media and the world wide web.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd