Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The New York Trilogy
Foyalty 27
The New York Trilogy (Paperback)
Order now for Free delivery in the UK for orders over £10 or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days. More on delivery...
Order Options
List Price
Online Price
Save
Availability
Delivery:

To home, business or free to our stores. Click for more info.

List Price: £8.99
Online Price: £6.74
Save: 25%
Availibility: Despatched in 2 business days.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

List Price: £8.99
Online Price: £8.54
Save: 5%
Availibility: In stock in 1 or more stores.

Product Synopsis

The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. "Marks a new departure for the American novel." (Observer). "A shatteringly clever piece of work...Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind." (Sunday Telegraph). "The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett." (Guardian).

Fiction & PoetryClassic fiction pre 1945Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Faber & Faber Publication Date: 02/06/2011 ISBN-13: 9780571276653  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by Paul Auster

Customer Reviews

This was a deep disappointment, not because of the hyperbole on the jacket saying how wonderful it was, but because two of the three stories were profoundly dull and implausible and didn’t convey any of the atmosphere of the city. In both of the first two stories there is little action, lots of repetition and in the second especially I found what I was being asked to believe so unlikely I lost any engagement with it at all. The final story of the trilogy was more engaging and interesting but didn’t really redeem the turgidity of the first two. These aren’t really detective stories in my view and if you read them thinking they are going to be on the lines of Chandler you will be disappointed, but even putting that aside I found very little to commend them and the use of colours for the characters names in story two was not clever just self-indulgent. Probably not the best Paul Auster to start with and I’ll try another to see if his novels are an improvement.

- 22/12/2014
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Please note for the New & Used Marketplace different terms and conditions apply.

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location1st BookEach additional bookAverage Delivery Time
UK Second ClassAvailable free for orders over £10* or £2.50Available free for orders over £10* or £1.003-7 Days
UK First Class£4.50£1.001-2 Days
UK Courier£7.00£1.001-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier£17.00£3.002-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail£5.00£1.504-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier£20.00£3.002-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail£7.00£3.004-14 Days
Rest of World Courier£22.50£3.003-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail£8.00£3.007-21 Days

* Available free for orders over £10 = When offered a delivery preference choose 'For Cheapest Postage' for our freepost in the UK offer. This is not available on the 'For Faster Delivery' option.

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Desiring Cairo
(Paperback)
Louisa Young
 
£7.99
£5.83
27%
About Grace
(Paperback)
Anthony Doerr
 
£11.99
£8.75
27%
Angel
(Paperback)
Colleen McCullough
 
£7.99
£5.83
27%
The Loner
(Paperback)
Josephine Cox
 
£6.99
£5.10
27%
Latest Blog
Pretty as a picture book
09/01/2015

One of the most fun things about becoming a parent is rediscovering the magical world of children's picture books. Charlotte Pope, who runs the Children's department at our Bristol Cabot Circus branch, picks out some of the best recent titles that should make bedtime stories fun for all involved.

The best fiction of 2014
15/12/2014

Many at Foyles feel that 2014 been a very good year for fiction and our customers seem to agree, with big leaps in sales in all our branches. Our web editor, Jonathan Ruppin, looks at why this might be, selects his top titles and explains why Dutch novelist Peter Buwalda's Bonita Avenue is his book of the year.

Making failure into an art
09/12/2014

You've probably heard of the writer Franz Kafka; but what about Hans Kafka? No? Well, there's a reason for that...

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd