Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Seas

The Seas (Paperback)

£7.99
Currently unavailable to order online.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

The narrator of The Seas lives in a tiny, remote, alcoholic, cruel seaside town. An occasional chambermaid, granddaughter to a typesetter, and daughter to a dead man, awkward and brave, wayward and willful, she is in love (unrequited) with an Iraq War veteran thirteen years her senior. She is convinced that she is a mermaid. What she does to ease the pain of growing up lands her in prison. What she does to get out is the stuff of legend. In the words of writer Michelle Tea, The Seas is "creepy and poetic, subversive and strangely funny, [and] a phenomenal piece of literature."Praise for The Invention of Everything Else:'A beguiling mix of love, death, pigeons and time travel...a gem of a story about the power of imagination' Marie Claire'Samantha Hunt is an exciting find - a fresh original voice...a fantastical love story...literary gold... It should appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and Donna Tartt' Sunday Express'Intelligent, compassionate...beautifully conjured' Daily Telegraph

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group Publication Date: 22/07/2010 ISBN-13: 9781849013932  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable to order online.  

Samantha Hunt was born in 1971 in Pound Ridge, New York. The Seas is her debut novel - it won the National Book Foundation's award for writers under 35 and was voted one of the Top 27 Books of 2004 by the Voice Literary Supplement. She is also the author of The Invention of Everything Else which was shortlisted for the Orange Prize 2009. Her short fiction and essays have appeared in The New Yorker, McSweeney's, Esquire, A Public Space, Cabinet, Tin House, Seed Magazine, New York Magazine, Blind Spot, Harper's Bazaar, and The Believer. Her work has been translated into seven languages. Samantha Hunt teaches writing at the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York.

More books by Samantha Hunt

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Cynlais
(Paperback)
Manon Steffan Ros
 
 
£8.99
 
God's Mean Older Brother
(Paperback)
G Arthur Brown
 
 
£7.40
 

Currently out of stock

Prime Meridian
(Paperback)
Silvia Moreno-Garcia
 
 
£6.00
 

Currently out of stock

Scandalous, the Victoria Woodhull...
(Hardback)
Neal H Katz
 
 
£21.95
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
Read an extract from Everything I Know About Love
20/04/2018

Dolly Alderton's Everything I Know About Love is an honest, funny and uplifting account of growing up and being enough.

An extract from The Fire This Time
18/04/2018

Edited by National Book Award-winning author Jesmyn Ward, The Fire This Time is a collection of essays and poems exploring black experience in modern-day America, in a response to James Baldwin's groundbreaking 1963 essay collection The Fire Next Time.

Swither, Shoogle, Wheesht - Kirsty Logan on the language of The Gloaming
17/04/2018

Kirsty Logan's second novel, The Gloaming, is a swirling tale threaded through with magic, heartbreak, love and mermaids. It is studded with evocative but perhaps unfamiliar words, adding atmosphere, mood and expression. Exclusively for Foyles, she has written about some of these Scottish words, that head up each chapter of the book.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd