Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Selected Stories of Patricia Highsmith

The Selected Stories of Patricia Highsmith (Paperback)

£17.50
Despatched in 2 business days.
£17.50
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
£17.50
Same Day Delivery
Check available postcodes.

W1, WC1, WC2, EC1, EC2

Not available after 11:59 GMT
Order now for Free delivery in the UK or choose Express Delivery to receive in 2 business days.
More on delivery...

Synopsis

In a cruel twist of irony, Texas-born Patricia Highsmith (1921-1995) is being recognized only after her death for her inestimable genius in her native land. With the savage humor of Waugh and the macabre sensibility of Poe, she brought a distinctly contemporary acuteness to her prolific body of noir fiction. Including over 60 short stories written throughout her career, collected together for the first time, The Selected Stories reveals the stunning versatility and terrifying power of Highsmith's work. These stories highlight the remarkable range of Highsmith's powers her unique ability to quickly, almost imperceptibly, draw out the mystery and strangeness of her subject, which appears achingly ordinary to our naked eye. Whether writing about jaded wives or household pets, Highsmith continually upsets our expectations and presents a world frighteningly familiar to our own, where danger lurks around every turn. Stories from The Animal-Lovers Book of Beastly Murders portray, with incisive humor, the murderously competitive desires of our most trusted companions. In this viciously satirical reprise of Kafka, cats, dogs, and cockroaches are no longer necessary aspects of a happy home but actually have the power to destroy it. In the short sketches that make up the Little Tales of Misogyny, Highsmith rediscovers predictable female characters "The Dancer," "The Female Novelist," "The Prude" and, through scathing humor, invests them with uniquely destructive powers. As a writer, Highsmith was all too well aware of the stolid patriarchal conventions that ruled her day her publisher rejected her second book out of hand because of its homosexual content. She is not a polemicist, but, as stories like "Oona the Jolly Cave Woman" and "The Mobile Bed-Object" reveal, her bizarre, haunting fiction continually betrays the inadequacy of our conventional understanding of female character. Highsmith eventually moved away from these coolly satiric, darkly comic exercises, and in her later collections, The Black House, Slowly, Slowly in the Wind, and Mermaids on the Golf Course, she uses the warm familiarities of middle-class life the manicured lawns, the cozy uptown apartments, the local pubs as the backbone for her chilling portrayals. "The Black House," for instance, explores the small-town male camaraderie and the destructive secret it masks: in this world, the fact that everyone knows your name is more likely a curse than a blessing. In the title story of the final collection presented here, "Mermaids on a Golf-Course," a man's extraordinary brush with death endows his everyday desires with fantastically devastating consequences. In her later work, Highsmith adds a dimension of penetrating psychological insight, evoked most vividly in stories like "A Curious Suicide" and "The Stuff of Madness," where the precarious line between fantasy and reality is blurred and we experience the terrifying possibility of slipping between them. Great writers view the world askew, and in their art they reflect our world back to us, slightly distorted. The Selected Stories reveals Highsmith's deft and exacting style, her incisive satirical intelligence, and her faultless eye for depicting the inner tremblings of human character. Her world remains all the more frightening because we recognize it as our own.

Fiction & PoetryCrime & Thrillers Publisher: WW Norton & Co Publication Date: 17/12/2005 ISBN-13: 9780393327724  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by Patricia Highsmith

Customer Reviews

Patricia Highsmith, born in Texas, was a literary exile from her homeland who felt more appreciated in Europe (she ended her days in Switzerland), so it's heartening to see an American edition of her stories of which the author would have been proud. She may be best known for the Ripley books and Strangers on a Train but these dark, mordant tales are just as bracing and disturbing as her novels. In fact without the exigencies of plot that her novels called for, these stories are even stranger than the more familiar works and will appeal to fans of Shirley Jackson. Interestingly, Highsmith's five story collections within this handsome, well-priced volume seem to anticipate the current vogue for themed anthologies: Tales of Natural and Unnatural Catastrophes has SF and horror themes (strange fungal growths in The Mysterious Cemetery, old age that's really old in No End in Sight); The Animal Lover's Beastly Book of Murder includes stories narrated by cockroaches and rats; and Little Tales of Misogyny features women capable of devastating acts in stories with a satirical sting. But the majority of stories here don't need any tricksy elements to make them memorable. In his introduction, Graham Greene called Patricia Highsmith the "poet of apprehension" and it's a description this singular author lives up to in the 60-plus stories in this essential collection.

- 10/05/2013
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Killing State
(Paperback)
Judith O'Reilly
 
 
£7.99
 

Currently out of stock

The Take: No Bank Is Safe
(Paperback)
L. Brown
 
 
£17.99
 

Currently out of stock

In Another Country, and Besides
(Paperback)
Maxwell Jacobs
 
 
£10.95
 

Currently out of stock

Dump
(Paperback)
Bob Marshall-Andrews
 
 
£8.99
 

Currently out of stock

Latest Blog
The Satisfaction of a Good Puzzle
21/11/2017

Alex Bellos extols the virtues of the puzzle, especially those from the great puzzle masters of Japan, and selects some of his favourite puzzle books.

#FoylesFive: Swap Snowflakes for Stardust
17/11/2017

Swap snowflakes for stardust this Christmas with some recommends that are out of this world, from Jamie-Lee from our Birmingham branch.

Read an extract of The Book of the Year
15/11/2017

Behold The Book of the Year, by the “No Such Thing As A Fish” podcasters a.k.a the QI Elves. The book is a surreal, silly and wonderful compendium of irreverent and topical facts that show 2017 in a unique light.

View all Blog Entries
Twitter
Show/Hide Tweets
© W&G Foyle Ltd