Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Witchfinder's  Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical pick 2018
Foyalty 24

The Witchfinder's Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical pick 2018 (Paperback)

£7.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£7.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.

Synopsis

'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six...'*RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK SPRING 2018**WINNER OF THE HWA DEBUT CROWN AWARD 2017*It has been waiting in the dark, Matthew's history - our history. But now I must turn over the stone: that you might see it, wriggling to escape...When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?'Vivid and terrifying' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex SerpentBased on a true story, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Miniaturist and Burial Rites.------------------------------------------------'A clever, pacey read that blends truth and fiction...what elevates this book above other historical thrillers are the questions that Underdown asks about the nature of power, fear and how easy it is to become complicit in terrible acts' The Times'A chilling, creeping novel with very obvious parallels to more modern forms of witch-hints and misogyny, but is still firmly rooted in an England torn apart by civil war and gripped by religious fervour' Red'A haunting, brooding debut' Psychologies'At once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this' Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street'Beth Underdown grips us from the outset and won't let go...at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale, author of Notes from an Exhibition 'A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel' Ian McGuire, author of The North Water'Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia... Even from the distance of nearly four hundred years, her Matthew Hopkins is a genuinely frightening monster' Kate Riordan'A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel' Ian McGuire, author of The North Water'Superb: dark, terrifying and utterly compelling' Tracy Borman'A novel for our times. Beth Underdown's The Witchfinder's Sister explores another time and another place to lay bare the visceral horror of what a witch hunt truly is' New York Times Book Review'Entertaining and thought-provoking, with a valuable message for our own times' Washington Post



Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersFiction & PoetryHistorical Fiction Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 14/12/2017 ISBN-13: 9780241978054  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Beth Underdown lectures in Creative Writing at the University of Manchester. She came across a brief mention of the 1640s 'Witchfinder General' Matthew Hopkins while reading a book about midwifery, igniting an interest which turned into an all-consuming hunt for the truth about this infamous killer.

See our Author Page for Beth Underdown

More books by Beth Underdown

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Secret Partner
(Hardback)
Steve Martini
 
 
£18.99
 
Not Alone
(Paperback)
Ethan St Clare
 
 
£12.99
 
Dark Light
(Paperback)
Jodi Taylor
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close