Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Madness, Heresy, and the Rumor of Angels: The Revolt Against the Mental Health System
Foyalty 45

Madness, Heresy, and the Rumor of Angels: The Revolt Against the Mental Health System (Paperback)

£14.99
Usually despatched in 14+ days.

Synopsis

This book, in the tradition of Thomas Szasz, R. D. Laing, and Erving Goffman, is a challenge to the belief-system of psychiatry and to the brutal and disrespectful treatment frequently given to the "mentally ill". The author, a qualified psychologist and psychotherapist and a prominent activist in the fight for mental patients' rights, presents a cogent critique of the medical model as applied to individuals undergoing spiritual or emotional crises. The core of the book consists of seven case histories or "true stories", depicting the impact of the mental health system on very different individuals, who all suffered psychiatric abuse before winning their own struggle for self-determination. These stories are shocking, poignant, alarming, sometimes disgusting, yet ultimately heartening. They expose the "crime against humanity" that is organised coercive psychiatry in the United States today, but they also show that it is sometimes possible to break free from psychiatric oppression and make something worthwhile out of one's own life.

In most cases, the heroes of these case histories experienced glimpses of another reality, a vision of a higher power or of the interconnectedness of all things. Although these can be classified as unconventional religious experiences, there is no justification for assuming that they are worthless or that they are symptoms of mysterious "mental illnesses". By the use of an ironic narrative technique, Dr. Farber relates these stories while counterposing the "official" Mental Health Establishment interpretation of what is going on with his own and with the "patient's". The case histories are followed by interviews with five dissident therapists, of varying theoretical persuasions, all engaged in different ways in resisting the Mental Health Establishment.

Medical & VeterinaryBrances of medicinePsychiatryMedical & VeterinaryBrances of medicineTherapy & therapeuticsSleep disorders & therapyMind, Body & SpiritPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesPsychologyAbnormal psychology Publisher: Open Court Publishing Co ,U.S. Publication Date: 30/11/1992 ISBN-13: 9780812692006  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched in 14+ days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

More books by Seth Farber

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Nodding Off: The Science of Sleep ...
(Hardback)
Alice Gregory
 
 
£16.99
 
Sleep, Health, and Society: From...
(Paperback)
Francesco P. Cappuccio; Michelle A....
 
 
£34.99
 
Sleep Sense: Improve your sleep,...
(Paperback)
Katharina Lederle
 
 
£12.99
 
Sleep Issues in Neuromuscular...
(Hardback)
Raghav Govindarajan; Pradeep C. Bollu
 
 
£79.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close