Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
The Treasury of Petrus Alamire: Music and Art in Flemish Court Manuscripts, 1500-1535
Foyalty 80

The Treasury of Petrus Alamire: Music and Art in Flemish Court Manuscripts, 1500-1535 (Hardback)

To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.
Email me when back in stock


Petrus Alamire was a noted music scribe, spy and courier attached to the Brussels and Mechelen courts of Philip the Fair, Margaret of Austria and Charles V. The workshop of Alamire and his immediate predecessors produced the largest and one of the most important groups of interrelated sources of northern Renaissance music. Containing almost 700 Masses, motets and secular works by some 70 composers, from Ockegham to Josquin to Willaert, the collection emphasizes the compositions of Pierre de la Rue, the court's main composer for decades. Many of the manuscripts were decorated with miniatures, borders, and eleborate painted initials, the work of ateliers in Ghent and Bruges and of such superb illuminators as Simon Bening, Gerard Horenbout, the Master of the Prayerbook of 1500, and the Master of the David Scenes. "The Treasury of Petrus Alamire" presents the first comprehensive, detailed and fully illustrated study of the 51 surviving manuscriupts and ten fragments from his workshop.

Eight essays by an international team of scholars discuss the social and economic background; the manuscripts as products of patronage; the illuminations; the musical repertory; Pierre de la Rue; Petrus Alamire; and the identification of the many scribal hands. The accompanying catalogue contains a physical description, dating, ownership and table of contents for every source, each with a substantial commentary, most with a full-colour illustration. An index of composers and compositions provides access to the sources and concordances of every work.

Art, Fashion & PhotographyArt monographs, history & theoryHistory of art / art & design stylesHistory of art: c 1400 to c 1600 incl the RenaissanceMusic & DanceSheet Music Publisher: The University of Chicago Press Publication Date: 15/03/2000 ISBN-13: 9789055442706  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.  

More books by Herbert Kellman

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Origins of Visual Culture in the...
Mohammed Hamdouni Alami
Collecting Art in the Italian...
Leah R. Clark
The Chiaroscuro Woodcut in ...
Naoko Takahatake; Jonathan Bober;...
The Folly of the Cross: The Passion ...
Richard Viladesau
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close