Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Other Left Side: Left and Right in Evolution and Other Essays
Foyalty 61

The Other Left Side: Left and Right in Evolution and Other Essays (Hardback)

£20.00
To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

In essays like "How to Fake Faking," and the title essay, "The Other Left Side: the Phenomenon of Left and Right in Evolution," Tijs Goldschmidt shatters our expectations of what a scientific essay is and then rebuilds it in intensely personal, artful and wry ways. Goldschmidt has won the top awards in Holland and is well known internationally within the field of science writing. Now for the first time available in English, his essays crackle with insight and joy at the discoveries to be made in the world in which we live--whether comparing the courtship rituals of men on the dance floor to the springtime courtship rituals of Eurasian wading birds, or visiting Hitler's watercolors in the vault of the US Army Center of Military History in Washington, DC, or noting how clumsy swifts are when brooding on land, or writing fascinatingly about left- and right-handedness.





In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Lewis Thomas, a gorgeous book of essays steeped in current evolutionary thought, one that invites readers to delight in our evolutionary present. This is a book for any reader, one that turns the deep currents of contemporary evolutionary biology into something to be savored and enjoyed by all.



Science & MathematicsBiology, life sciencesLife sciences: general issuesEvolutionScience & MathematicsScience: general issuesPopular science Publisher: Seven Stories Press,U.S. Publication Date: 13/03/2018 ISBN-13: 9781609806668  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.  

More books by Tijs Goldschmidt

More books by Sherry MacDonald

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Universe in Creation: A New...
(Hardback)
Roy R. Gould
 
 
£17.95
 
Hands, the Achilles' Heel: The...
(Paperback)
Peter Ffitch
 
 
£15.00
 
Blossoms: And the genes that make them
(Hardback)
Maxine Singer
 
 
£16.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd