The Specsavers National Book Awards
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

The Specsavers National Book Awards

SpecsaversThe Specsavers National Book Awards, created in 2010, are a series of literary prizes awarded annually to writers who have made a particular impact on the UK book market, either through the coverage they have received or through sales.

In the main they celebrate UK (or UK-based) writers, though one award recognises an International Author of the Year. There are currently 11 awards, including the overall Book of the Year, chosen from the 10 category winners. Each of the awards had a commercial sponsor. The full list of awards has varied frequently: there have been more than a dozen other categories at various times during the Awards' history that are not currently featured. In addition, many of the current awards were slightly renamed in 2010 and the exact winner of some awards became the author and his or her respective book, rather than just the author.

Shortlists are compiled by 50 members of the National Book Awards Academy, representing retailers, wholesalers and trade journalists, including a representative from Foyles. The category winners are then chosen by the entire 750-strong Academy. Since 2010, the overall Book of the Year has been chosen by an online public vote.

The National Book Awards are a wholly separate entity to the British Book Awards which ran up to 2009 and have different ownership.

Selected awards

Book of the Year

2012 Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James
2011 How to be a Woman by Cailtin Moran
2010 One Day by David Nicholls
2009 The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale
2008 On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan
2007 The Dangerous Book for Boys by Conn & Hal Iggulden
2006 Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J K Rowling
2005 The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
2004 Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss
2003 Stupid White Men by Michael Moore
2002 Billy by Pamela Stephenson
2001 Man and Boy by Tony Parsons
2000 Managing My Life by Alex Ferguson
1999 Birthday Letters by Ted Hughes
1998 Bridget Jones's Diary by Helen Fielding
1997 Longitude by Dava Sobel
1996 Delia's Winter Collection by Delia Smith
1995 Writing Home by Alan Bennett
1994 Wild Swans by Jung Chang

Outstanding Achievement (previously known as Lifetime Achievement Award)

2012 Ian Rankin
2011 Jackie Collins
2010 Martin Amis & Terry Pratchett
2009 No award
2008 J K Rowling
2007 John Grisham
2006 Jamie Oliver
2005 Sir John Mortimer
2004 Sir David Attenborough
2003 Alan Bennett
2002 Mark Barty-King (publisher, most notably CEO of Transworld)
2001 Ernest Hecht (founder and MD of Souvenir Press)
2000 Spike Milligan
1999 Maeve Binchy
1998 Jilly Cooper
1997 Paul Scherer
1996 Wilbur Smith
1995 Delia Smith
1994 Catherine Cookson
1993 Dr D G Hessayon


UK Author of the Year (previously known as Author of the Year)

2012 Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
2011 The Stranger's Child by Alan Hollinghurst
2010 Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
2009 Aravind Adiga
2008 Ian McEwan
2007 Richard Dawkins
2006 Alan Bennett
2005 Sheila Hancock
2004 Alexander McCall Smith
2003 Sarah Waters
2002 Philip Pullman
2001 Nigella Lawson
2000 J K Rowling
1999 Beryl Bainbridge
1998 Louis de Bernières
1997 Bill Bryson
1996 Salman Rushdie
1995 Sebastian Faulks
1994 Roddy Doyle
1993 Andrew Morton
1992 Peter Mayle
1991 Peter Ackroyd
1990 Charles, Prince of Wales


International Author of the Year

2012 The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
2011 A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
2010 Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

Children's Book of the Year (previously known as British Children's Book of the Year)

2012 Ratburger by David Walliams
2011 A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
2010 Zog by Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler
2009 Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer
2008 Horrid Henry and the Abominable Snowman by Francesca Simon
2007 Flanimals of the Deep by Ricky Gervais
2006 Ark Angel by Anthony Horowitz
2005 The Gruffalo's Child by Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler
2004 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
2003 Girls in Tears by Jacqueline Wilson
2002 Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
2001 The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman
2000 The Illustrated Mum by Jacqueline Wilson
1999 Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J K Rowling
1998 Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J K Rowling
1997 Norhern Lights by Philip Pullman
1996 The Hutchinson Treasury of Children's Literature edited by Alison Sage


New Writer of the Year (previously known as Newcomer of the Year)

2012 The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
2011 When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman
2010 The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal
2009 Tom Rob Smith
2008 Catherine O'Flynn
2007 Victoria Hislop
2006 Marina Lewycka
2005 Susanna Clarke
2004 Monica Ali
2003 Allison Pearson
2002 Pete McCarthy
2001 Zadie Smith
2000 Chris Stewart
1999 Borders UK (now defunct book retail chain)
1998 Daisy & Tom (now defunct children's retailer opened by Tim Waterstone)
1997 Kate Atkinson


Other current awards

  • Biography/Autobiograhy of the Year
  • Popular Fiction Book of the Year
  • Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
  • Audiobook of the Year
  • Crime Book of the Year
  • Food & Drink Book of the Year

Discontinued awards

  • Richard & Judy Best Read of the Year
  • The Children's Author of the Year
  • Illustrated Children's Book of the Year
  • Illustrated Book of the Year
  • The TV and Film Book of the Year
  • The Literary Fiction Award
  • The History Book of the Year
  • The Sports Book of the Year
  • The deciBel Writer of the Year
  • The Fastest Selling Biography of All Time
  • The Travel Writer of the Year
  • The Fantasy and Science Fiction Author of the Year
  • Bestseller of the Year
  • Paperback of the Year




© W&G Foyle Ltd